Wireless Internet Reviews

Verizon BroadbandAccess Mobile Broadband Service

OVERVIEW

Verizon

Editor's Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Serving over 80 million customers, thanks to a recent merger with regional carrier Alltel, Verizon Wireless is the largest wireless provider in the United States.

Founded in 2000, Verizon Wireless is based in Basking Ridge, NJ and is a joint venture between Verizon Communications and the Vodafone Group and employs about 69,000 people.

Pros: The Verizon BroadbandAccess plans are simple and have a large coverage area in the United States. Their plans are competitively priced, have great speeds and they have a wide range of available modems. their international roaming is also a plus.

Cons: You can’t get the Verizon BroadbandAccess service without committing to a two year contract and still have to pay an activation fee even with that length of commitment for the wireless internet service.


Detailed Provider Information

Plans: Verizon Wireless offers 2 mobile broadband plans under the name BroadbandAccess. The first plan is called BroadbandAccess 250MB and offers you 250 megabytes of data transfer per month for $39.99. The second plan available is called BroadbandAccess 5GB and offers you five gigabytes of data transfer per month for $59.99 per month. Any usage over the amount allotted in your plan will be charged at 25 cents per megabyte.

There is a third option now available which is listed as a "Day Pass".  For $15 you can get 24 hours of access to the Verizon network.  This is only available to customers with USB modems or ExpressCard modems installed.

Customer Service: Customer service for Verizon BroadbandAccess is available via email, online chat, at any retail location and by toll free number Monday through Sunday from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. EST.

Credit Check: Yes

Contract: Yes, there is a minimum of a one year contract requirement for mobile broadband plans.

Payment Options: Payments can be made online via the Verizon Wireless website, by phone, by postal mail or at retail locations. Payment is accepted in the form of credit card, check, money order, cash or debit.

Bandwidth Restrictions: Speeds average from download speeds of 600kbps to 1.4 mbps and upload speeds range from 500 kbps to 800 kbps.

Activation Fee: There is an activation fee of $35.00 to begin getting Verizon wireless internet service.

Cancellation Fee: The maximum cancellation fee for discontinuing your Verizon BroadbandAccess while still under contract is $175.00, though the fee will be lower the further into the contract you are. Verizon deducts five dollars from the cancellation fee for every month of paid service you’ve completed during the contract period.

Roaming Charges: The Verizon BroadbandAccess service allows for no domestic roaming within the United States. They do however allow various types of international roaming, but most require you to add the I-Dial service to your account to be able to do so. International roaming is charged at various rates and is allowed in Canada, Mexico, Bermuda, China, India, Israel and a few other locations. Rates change frequently and you should check with customer service before roaming to the destination of your choice.

Modems and PC Cards: Verizon Wireless offers various PC cards and USB key modems ranging in price from $0.00 to $129.99 (with online discounts applying to most), but you should note that all modem pricing is dependent upon a 2 year contract for BroadbandAccess service.

Some of the Available Modems and PC Cards are listed below:

UM1175 USB Modem
Verizon PC770 2 in 1 ExpressCard
Verizon Wireless V740 ExpressCard
Verizon Wireless USB1000 Global Modem (shown)

Coverage Map: Verizon Wireless BroadbandAccess Coverage Map

Average Ratings (from 54 ratings)
Price
Speed
Support
Average Rating

{ 54 comments… read them below or add one }

TConn October 2, 2008 at 2:35 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Went with Verizon as they have the biggest 3G network. Great speeds most places I take the laptop. At as good as home connection but it allows me to go work out of the home which is great on a sunny day.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

6 / 7 found this review helpful.

Reply

PerryB October 7, 2008 at 2:17 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Happy with this. Got the USB727 modem nice and small and a good price with the contract. Only had service drop a couple of times but always get good speeds.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Jim T February 17, 2009 at 9:20 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Went with Alltel because of unlimited access with wireless modem for 60 ucks a month. Do not like the 5 gbs limited.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

Joe May 14, 2009 at 1:07 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Continuous service drops and extremely slow download speeds. Not worth the 65 dollars a month fee w/taxes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

9 / 10 found this review helpful.

Reply

Mike June 16, 2009 at 8:39 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Well, I’ve was a happy verizon bb customer for 4 years, but all of a sudden the card always shows that it’s roaming — which means big charges to use it. I’ve tried reinstalling, etc. I may have to switch to another service…. Verizon has somehow broken theirs.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Vernon E June 18, 2009 at 11:24 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Top Notch Service And equipment but if you go over the 5GB limit you will pay BIG TIME !!! No Netflix on this card !!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

6 / 6 found this review helpful.

Reply

Lynn July 26, 2009 at 11:29 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I went with Verizon because I already have their Cell phone.
I used mine while traveling. I am a heavy user the 5GB was not enough the cost for the overage was totally ridiculous!
Other than that I thought is was the best, I never had any problems with it as we traveled. I had to cancels due to astronomical overtures. Canceling was cheeper than the cost of the plan.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

BILL August 12, 2009 at 9:24 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

WORSE SERVICE IN THE INDUSTRY, DROPS MY WIRELESS CONNECTION 10 TO 20 TIMES A DAY. LOOKING FOR A NEW PROVIDER, IM DONE WITH VERIZON

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

8 / 8 found this review helpful.

Reply

Rosanne August 20, 2009 at 11:28 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

One star is one too many….Company gets an F for customer service,and I called CEO Seidenberg’s office directly: 212-395-1060. 1st aircard never connected properly, they had no replacement, so I they foisted an upgrade on me with(you guess it) 2 more years tacked on. Pay as you go plan was NEVER mentioned as an option. All in all, I would NOT use them again. Now using Virgin phone and love it. Verizon dropped my calls out-of-state, and used up the entire charge when I was on either coast.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

Sarah October 28, 2009 at 4:56 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Awful. For the first year of my contract service was slow, but tolerable. The second year has been terrible–continuously dropped and sometimes difficult to connect. Can’t wait to get out of this contract.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

Justin December 31, 2009 at 7:00 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Nothing but problems with verizon broadband, especially on the pc. We switched to macs and that helped. I have not had the chance to try other companies mobile broadband but I am extremely disappointed in verizon’s

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

Matt February 27, 2010 at 1:26 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Verizon’s website for billing and service management is painfully slow. It takes 45 seconds to 3 minutes PER PAGE just to pay your bill online. If they can’t even make their wired site work, do you really expect their wireless broadband service to be reliable? You won’t find out about the slow service until after you become a customer because you have to log in to get the the “my verizon” part of the site. This has been going on for about a year now.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Woody March 26, 2010 at 5:58 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

My VBB connections when away from my home are typically fair to good. Service quality from my home tower has been very intermittent – from fair to terrible. For the past 5 months Verizon has been unable to fix the (more often than not) slow access via the tower from my home. Sometimes it was 1200 down, much of the time it was 600 down. Now it is 120k down, 50k up!
Same problem with 2 PCs, and two different aircards. Verizon support has issued countless trouble tickets. The field engineers either are not checking the system well or are totally clueless. Support is very polite, but Verizon is unresponsive when it comes to actually fixing a problem.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Joe Green March 31, 2010 at 6:51 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

First year was fine, second year AWFUL. VERY slow, constant disconnects. Will not renew.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Amanda April 22, 2010 at 3:35 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

We were charged $399 for roaming we did not even do for the broadband. They said we may have been too close to the Mexico border. They refuse to reimburse any of the money.

Also, every time I want to go online, I always have to sign in again, sometimes I even have to type in the 11 number password. While in mid web search the internet drops for unknown reasons.

I also was forced to upgrade because they did not have the right connector for my device and I also received the “complimentary” two-year contract.

This is the worst company I have ever encountered. I will never use their services again.

I guess that is what you should expect when their sole advertising campaign is putting down AT&T. I have my cell service with AT&T because I have an iPhone and AT&T is way better, especially their customer service.

Don’t ever do anything with Verizon!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Ellie April 29, 2010 at 8:03 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I got this internet so I could use it “wirelessly”, OR by that I thought in different spots in the country. I’m from Jersey, while in New York state I used the internet for maybe ten mintutes and it wound up costing over thirty dollars worth of “roaming” MB’s that Verizon charged me for, because I was connected to Canada. Also sometimes after you click “Disconnect” it connects again because the button double clicks, then four hours later you find your internet has been needlessly connected while it times you. It is also a slow connection. Started fast, but it so slow now. I live in a city too. At around 60 a month, it is NOT worth it, esp when its usually over that for some reason they cook up. Verizon brings one word to mind and that is…fail.I also don’t like talking to a customer service rep in another country! I get connected to other countries using Verizon service, then have to phone other countries to resolve this issue. Why do I have to be so global just to check my Yahoo account and watch funny cat videos on You Tube?? Not cool Verizon, not cool.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

max May 26, 2010 at 5:14 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I really hate Verizon Wireless Internet.

1. Connecting is unreliable; it often requires three or four attempts before a connection is obtained.
2. The service spontaneously disconnects every few minutes–right in the middle of a short download.
3. Customer service is either incompetent or Verizon doesn’t mind my having these problems.

I can’t wait to find a new service that will work. I’m just waiting for the cursed contract to run out.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Flaco June 15, 2010 at 7:00 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Worst choice I could have made by far.. Slow downloads, terrible speed for browsing and expensive!!! Stay away. This is a piece of…

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Ron E June 17, 2010 at 1:35 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Received 1month trial. Took only 1 day trial to return device to Verizon. Not what sales promotion promised. Very very slow. Needed performance that was promised. Disappointed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Mark July 16, 2010 at 7:10 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I wouldn’t even give this a star but its the lowest rating I can give. And just sitting here and typing this is costing me “megabytes” of internet that they love to charge you for when you go over. At 60 a month for not even .25mbs yes that is less then half a mb for 60 a month, this is giant rip off. The service wasn’t even good when it started. My friend has internet threw comcast and has 30mbs download speed and only pays 40 a month! THIS IS THE WORST INTERNET SERVICE AVAILABLE EVER. I give this a rating of 0 stars and a giant FU to verizon, even if they do have the driod phone… o wait google got that from the because there just soo cheap at doing anything in life.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Chris August 3, 2010 at 5:11 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Verizon home PC wireless is horrible, lost connections, difficult to connect at times. the wireless portion does not work most of the time, we have connect the USB to the PC. Try something else

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

Cindy August 6, 2010 at 6:24 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Having Verizon cell phone service as it is the best in our rural area, I have been considering Verizon BB for my laptop. After reading so many reviews from such “satisfied customers”, it has really helped me make a decision about my wireless broadband service. I really don’t want to be stuck in a two year contract. Thanks!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Kathleen Gee August 19, 2010 at 9:53 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Poor Customer Service from VZW

The sequence of events was:

1. I called Verizon Wireless to ask when I needed to cancel to avoid getting charged for my laptop Mobile Broadband as well as the Droid X Mobile Broadband.

2. The Customer Service rep said no matter when I cancelled, I would be refunded on a pro-rated basis. I had no problem with the early termination fee of $260.

3. I activated my Droid X this morning, checked it out to make sure the 3G Hotspot worked with my laptop.

4. I called Verizon Wireless this afternoon to decommission my laptop Mobile Broadband.
a. They said I was paid up until Sept 18.
b. They said there would be no refund
c. I reminded them I had called and the Customer Service rep said I would get a prorated refund
d. They said their “system” didn’t allow that
e. I asked to speak to a supervisor
f. They said they were all in a meeting, and a supervisor would call me back
g. After waiting 2-3 hours, I called back and spoke to a supervisor
h. The supervisor kept apologizing, saying there was nothing he could do, but no refund
i. To get a refund, I would have had to cancel yesterday, not today.
j. I pointed out that Customer Service had given me incorrect information
k. He said, too bad, there was nothing he could do.
l. Supervisor kept apologizing. I said he should stop it, since he wasn’t really sorry.
m. I deactivated the Droid X and am returning it to Verizon Wireless.

Another case of bureaucracy costing everyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

6 / 6 found this review helpful.

Reply

John Pilette September 2, 2010 at 8:29 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Verizon wireless used to have a reputation for excellent customer service. Our experience over the past six months has been just the opposite.
Six months ago we inquired about receiving a discount that was offered by Verizon to employees of her company. We were told we could only get the discount if we signed a new 2 year agreement. We have now found out that is untrue.
Three months later we received a verizon mailing for the new Droid. We went to the store and were told they knew nothing about it, no one had the phones, and even if they had them, they would not honor that price.
Although frustrated, we did sign a contract and took an offer on another phone so we could begin to at least get the discount. I have since talked to four different Verizon reps because we have yet to receive the discount. We were told, they did not know why, it would start in a month or two, etc., etc. Finally a couple of days ago, we were told we could not get it until the account was in my wife’s name. That is not a problem, but no one ever told us we needed to do that. So now the discount will start in November. Had we been given accurate information at first, we would not be losing $90 in discounts we should have been receiving.
Verizon’s response to this issue that was completely their fault, was to offer us 150 minutes good for 60 days and tell us how valuable we are as customers. Be aware that what Verizon tells you may or may not be true and it can cost you money. They were insensitive to our complaint. We will switch providers as soon as possible.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

al September 25, 2010 at 11:23 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

really bad service, had verizon broadband service for over 3 years now and it is just getting worse, can’t even watch youtube, my free dialup years back was faster than this, not recommended

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

cliff plasters September 26, 2010 at 4:18 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I am paying for Verizon mobile broadband (EV-RevA) but now most of the time I get national access (1xRTT) which is much slower-way slower so I’m about to cancel. Verizon has not notified me of any changes to my service but it’s not fair to treat a customer like this without explanation. I’m not going to pay for such sorry service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Tom M October 19, 2010 at 11:56 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I’ve been trying to get my email fixed for four days now. My email is going into my trash folder instead of my inbox. Each Tech does the same things, and nothing helps. They promised me 2 days ago to call me back, but no calls, like I am surprised! Today, the 4th day, I got a recording that they are working on it and “someone will call you soon.” I wonder what soon means to Verizon. I think I will soon be looking for a new ISP.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Jaxson Butler November 9, 2010 at 1:46 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Verizon internet + Limited internet + Alot of money = Worst option avaliable

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

User November 22, 2010 at 7:48 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Extremely, agonizingly slow service. Service representative says too many people using it/bandwidth too narrow. In other words, the product is oversold and the service is not catching up. I have never been able to watch a video from utube,for example. Service reps contradicted one another on why it is so slow. Their job is really to sell more products. One told me to go buy a booster antenna. Went to the Verizon store, they don’t sell them. Avoid this product, it doesn’t exist.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

Mary Johnson March 3, 2011 at 1:27 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I saw a package that I was interested in and I attempted to check availability online. I live in a rural area and after two attempts, the Verizon system couldn’t find me and I was directed to call their 800#. I spent 44 minutes and 22 seconds on hold. I correctly pressed and answered all of the automated systems questions (almost 5 minutes worth by the way, be prepared), was then on hold an additional 15 minutes, only to discover that the system had directed me to the technical support team, not the sales team. After giving my NH zip code to the woman who answered the tech phone, she transferred me over to the NY sales dept. But I didn’t know that until after I had spent an additional 12 minutes on hold. I explained to the NH sales woman how long I had been on hold and how I had been misdirected twice. Apparently she didn’t give a hoot because I ended up at the end of the “line” for NH sales. I was on hold an additional 20 minutes and was fairly irate. I immediately asked the NH sales rep to transfer me to a supervisor. I was told he could do so but there were even less supervisors than sales people I would be on hold a minimum of another 30 minutes. Unbelievable. I explained I had just wasted 44 minutes of my life on hold trying to give someone my money, actually just trying to find out if services I was interested in were available in my area, there was no way with that sort of “service” just trying to purchase a product was I going to actually give that company any of my money–can you imagine the “service” after?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Tony March 13, 2011 at 12:01 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

We live in the country where “real” high speed internet isn’t available so we got Verizons internet for $60 a month(I know people that have cable for way less) and it is the worst internet in the world. I’m switching back to dialup. Its more reliable, quicker and less hassle. We have had Verizons internet for years and its got worse and worse. Not even remotely in the same ball field as DSL, cable or really even dial up. I would pay $100 a month if I could get REAL high speed internet here!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

rc March 17, 2011 at 9:46 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Extremely unreliable; within two years, I had one solid 2 week outage with them, and another solid 3 week outage, not to mention numerous day or multiple-hour long blackouts. Their cheapo modem needs to be rebooted repeatedly and the outside cable connections don’t work whenever the weather is bad. Customer service is terrible– I could spend hours talking to them, running repeated checklist tests, and get no answers, or contradictory ones, and others that were clearly wrong. They were often rude and insulting, made adamant promises to fix things or refund me for days when I didn’t have service, and none of these promises were met. Verizon is a good way to waste your time…

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Heide April 6, 2011 at 5:43 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Run as fast and as far away from this company as possible. Their service is horrible and their customer service is worse. Do not call with any billing or tech problem unless you have an entire day to sit on hold. The cost for service each moth is ridiculous. We had a 250mg. plan because my husband did not use it very much at all. It still wasn’t enough and we constantly had overages. This was just under 41.00 per mo. To upgrade to the next level would of cost close to 70.00 with taxes. We did not need a 5G plan. We let our contract expire and then some to satisfy our agreement, called one day into the new billing cycle to cancel and had to still pay for the hole month. NO Pro-ratia of service. I find this unacceptable for a service which has a flat rate charge per month. This company cares nothing about customers and service only lying and gouging people to death. I ended up getting a T-Mobile Stick w/ Unlimited usage for 39.99 per month. This price includes all taxes. I have had not one problem with using it or with customer service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Jodie June 5, 2011 at 6:58 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Horrible horrible and more horrible! I’ve had VBB for about a year now and not once have I been able to watch a video on Youtube, forget about streaming audio or video….that never happens, unless you want to hear 2 seconds of music or watch 1 second of video before it pauses and “buffers” for 5 minutes. The connection is constantly dropped (and I even went out and bought a $300 booster) sometimes over 20 times throughout the day. It can take up to five minutes for my home page to open up after I do get connected…and if you want to check your email or Facebook, plan on having a good half and hour just waiting for the images to download. Customer service is an absolute joke – again, plan on taking a day off to wait on hold, get through all the prompts and be told the wrong information 3 times before getting someone who can actually help you. It’s like paying to lease a Cadillac but instead of a Cadillac, they give you a ’79 Datsun with flat tires and a blown motor.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Jamie June 10, 2011 at 6:39 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

We live on a farm and dsl is not available. I work from home and we were assured that mifi would work in our area. We used the mifi for 1 – 1/2 years with NO problem. Then our house was broken into and laptop and mifi stolen. We upgraded to the 4G and bought a new laptop. Service has been terrible on the mifi and with Verizon. We have been told so many different things by so many different people. That we live in a weak area…WELL what changed from the time that I got robbed to that following weekend?? My signal was fine then. Finally they sent a different mifi – we thought it would be better – it seemed to be for the first day. Then terrible. I work from home!! I have to get up and go to the coffee shop to work all day and they do not care!!! They people that are supposed to be technical all know something different or nothing at all!! I have been told maybe my SIM card is bad. Who are these engineers? Verizon used to be great, but they really do not care. I think they have “tweaked” their tower and just said “Screw you” to whoever got screwed over in the process of “getting more bang for the buck” (as one supervisor said for me). Well, I am not getting ANY bang for my buck except paying for their piece of CRAP. We are on the verge of dropping our service and changing carriers because of their incompetance and no sense of urgency. Very disgusted with Verizon

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

jon June 10, 2011 at 9:15 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Terrible service, i now use FREE dialup that is faster then the their mobile broadband service, the service would disconnect me every 30 minutes on the dot, called verizon and they refused to admit it was on their end, kept blaming it on my machine. When i told the customer service rep that i am using free dialup that is faster then their service they hung up on me, i called back and asked to speak to a supervisor and the supervisor told me that i was in the wrong to say that to them. Would NEVER reccomend this service to anyone

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Robert Forsyth June 13, 2011 at 2:46 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Verizon SUCKS… Recently my Thunderbolt has been telling me that my Hotspot service is FREE, but will soon require that I opt in on a Service Plan. For What? I rarely get 3G service, and although in the past week just started getting 4G service in my home area, there is “No Internet Service”. Usually there isn’t even 1X service and almost never any Internet service. And they want me to pay extra for this? Run away from Verizon as fast as you can…..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

Brian July 10, 2011 at 8:28 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I’m a long haul trucker and have had Verizon phone service for well over 10 years and have had great service all over the country, even in remote areas. I’ve had Verizon Broadband since approx 2005 and was grandfathered in with unlimited GB service. I’ve always had pretty decent broadband coverage all over the country until the past year. Its seems the broadband service is getting worse not better, even in large cities, to the point where I cant do anything on-line.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

6 / 6 found this review helpful.

Reply

Jenelle October 2, 2011 at 9:22 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I have had the same expereince with Verizon wireless Broadband (with grandfathered unlimited GB service) as Brian, and it was also fine until the past year, and has been getting worse by the day. Disconnecting continuously and often not even detecting the device. Last year I got one of their new USB devices “MyFi” and it hasn’t improved anything. I’ve called multiple times and the customer service has me uninstall/reinstall and that works for 10 minutes and then back to repeated disconnects. Finally they said they’d send me a new replacement one, which I just received. I opened the box and it was just the unit, no instructions, no cable connector, and there was a statement indicating it was a “Reconditioned” unit – not even a new one!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Kurt July 16, 2011 at 3:09 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I purchased the Broadband access service through Verizon about 6 months ago. I travel a lot and it’s been a real God-send most of the time. There’s a lot of dropped connections in some of the outlying cities, like Tallahassee, FL for instance. One thing I’m depressed about lately is the 5GB data limit per month, which they really don’t emphasize of course, when you’re signing up for service. In this age of video and free downloads, that 5GB drops down real fast. I don’t even know what the overage charge is, because I shut the damned thing off as soon as I get near the limit. I wouldn’t have signed up if I had known how limiting the 5GB /month would be. Looking forward to a year and a half from now, when I can drop it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Honus Wagner August 3, 2011 at 8:21 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Verizon sucks , I am through with their overpriced plan as soon as my commitment is over .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Colin Sharpe August 4, 2011 at 4:35 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I’ve used the Verizon Mobile Broadband USB Modem for a couple years now, and I find that it is the most atrocious and unreliable disgrace to modems. Download speeds of 600 kb/s to 1.2 kb/s are boasted, yet the fastest I have ever seen in 2 years is 150 kb/s. For the past couple of days it has been downloading at speeds of 20 kb/s, and no, I’m not forgetting a digit. Those speeds are ludicrous for the amount that is being spent, and the support is less than helpful. Instead of actually addressing the situation I am told to run speedtest.net, after doing so I am then told that is the expected speed. Preposterous.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Virginia Heath Moyer August 20, 2011 at 7:43 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Verizon is fine for 20 hours a day, but for the other 4 – actual time varies – you have no service. I spent 4 months trying to work with them, endless hours on the phone, numerous service techs were out. I give up – I am cancelling and going with another company who can provide service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

jay September 9, 2011 at 4:39 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I will never sign with Verizon wireless again. I ahd a phone that broke and the guy that works that a verizon store told me it was covered with my extented warratty so I shipped it back for a new one and got it, 1 month late they charged me $299 for ther phone and $24.00 for shipped it. I lost so much money from this company. Never again .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

TL October 7, 2011 at 1:10 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I agree with other reviewers. As soon as I can get out of my Verizon contract, will do so. Data service is ridiculously expensive and their representations about use of phones/devices (DROID/XOOM) overseas proved incorrect. “Customer Care,” their euphemism for service representatives is a joke.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Sharon October 15, 2011 at 12:34 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I’ve had my Verizon phone for a few months and liked it. When I got a new laptop, I signed up for the Verizon 3G/4G. They told me I needed a modem, even though I had one built into the computer. They said it wasn’t “Verizon’s built in.” ??? Either way, I got the modem. Speed is deplorable. Comparable to dial-up. I was looking to switch from Time Warner – who’s service can be dicey for some at best – but as slow as Verizon 3G is, and no doubt 4g when it comes to our area, I don’t know. May need to think about that one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Keri October 21, 2011 at 12:46 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I started using Verizon’s mobile broadband devices back in 2009. Back then, it worked pretty good. I cant compare it to cable, but good enough. Now that they have iphones & 4g services, their network obviously cant handle, my BB service is the worst ever. It disconnects every 2 minutes then takes forever to connect again. Customer service is not really any better. I am about to cancel. I dont even care about the contract. Verizon used to be the best, but they have fallen way off! Can someone offer any suggestions of who to try?? Im cancelling in a few days. I cant deal with this….

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

PKB December 8, 2011 at 2:12 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Have had Verizon wirelss broadband for 3+ years (only thing available in our rural area other than 26 kbps dialup thanks to AT&T). Service gets progressively slower even though it shows 3G. Lately, It consistently runs at less than dialup (10kbps to 25kbps download). Verizon has admitted they have a problem but say it is “proprietary” as to if they have any plans to fix it. They continue to add users and charge the $59.xx monthly for broadband. Going to ask the FCC how they qualify for any portion of the $2+ billion allocated for proving rural “high speed internet.”

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

elena santoyo December 12, 2011 at 8:55 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

pls, i have tryed to talk to several service personel at your cricket stores without any problem solved. i have two modems on which i have pd a month ahead, yet your computers show only a few dollars credit, pls review my records, i have pd ahead one month since Oct 2010 or possibly November (two accts) phone #956-756-6245 abd 956-332-0141 . pls correct this problem for me. i would appreciate it , pls e-mail me when done so. thank you kindly; Elena Santoyo

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Michelle Woodward January 13, 2012 at 12:48 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Verizon Wireless Internet is a scam…The people that work for verizon are a joke…There is no customer service with this crappy internet service. I bought their service after being told that it was a great service…WHAT A JOKE!! their service sucks. I spent no less than 20 hours with tech support over the last four months, another family member has spent at least another 8(all this is documented) I have spent an additional $300.00 after I was told by tech support my computer had problems(my computer didn’t). I called to cancel and the rep laughed and said well if you had cancelled in 30 days you wouldn’t have to pay a fee. After I got the number for Dan Mead the CEO of Verizon Wireless and complained about the service and having to pay the fee and asked if the fact that I have been a cell hone customer for over 10 years was imortant I was told that if I called verizon again or ever compalined again that they would seek to have my phones turned off as well as any other service I had. I was told that my 10 years of loyalty didn’t mattered and the most important thing to verizon was that they reached 100 million customers….There service is a scam…do not waist your time by signing up for service with them!!!

For anyone trying to find Dan Meads office number here it is and good luck to you!!

DAN S. MEAD
908-559-1078
dan.mead@verizonwireless.com

If you are thinking of sgning up for verizon think again!! BEWARE!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Kelly January 13, 2012 at 2:24 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Verizon’s internet for home is horrible. I have called 4 times and the last person I talked to was not interested in fixing the problem, but in how long I was on the internet even though it moves slower than dial up and kicks me off it. I will soon be switching to another cell phone and internet providers simply because they can not fix the problem and do not seem to care. The price of internet would not be bad if it actually worked.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

vanessa harriman February 4, 2012 at 3:09 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Have had major problems with being disconnected over and over. Sometimes can’t stay connected long enough the pull the browser back up from the tray and refresh the page. Can’t get reply from customer service. Sick and tired of the crap. Looking for a new provider.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Paul February 19, 2012 at 9:52 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

3G worked OK when I first got it (late 2010). Now slower than dial-up. Works better at 2:30 AM!! Stuck with two year contract. I wonder if I can get out of the contract cuz it doesn’t work anymore.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

Marc March 7, 2012 at 1:32 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I travel extensively as a truc.ker all over the country. Verizon’s coverage map is a ruse. I will not buy a fourth generation device. Verizon clearly has major problems .with its repeated crashing. Whoever owns the patent for I.C.S. with the annoying moniker of ice cream sandwich, is clearly jerking around verizon customers.FYI…… Third world countries have better broadband in the united states All cell phone companies Advertise how freakin faster broadband is…..hardly. They advertise this to suck you into buying a 700 dollar smart phone;I pad….etc. I am seriously considering going back to a dumb phone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Leave a Comment

Click stars below to rate.
Price
Speed
Support