Wireless Internet Reviews

US Cellular easyedge Mobile Broadband Service

Overview

US Cellular

Editor's Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Serving a little over six million customers in 26 different states, US Cellular is the sixth largest wireless network by subscribers in the United States.

Founded in 1983, US Cellular is based in Chicago, Illinois and has over 8000 employees.

Pros: US Cellular’s two easyedge wireless internet plans are easy to understand and they require a one year contract instead of the two year contract many other providers require.

Cons: The easyedge mobile broadband service from US Cellular has some painstakingly slow speeds in comparison to other services and only offers two  modems for use with the service.


Detailed Provider Information

Plans: US Cellular easyedge offers two mobile broadband plans. The first is called easyedge 20MB and offers you twenty megabytes of data transfer for $30.00 per month. Any data usage over the 20MB allotted is charged at a rate of $.004 per kilobyte. The second plan is called easyedge 5GB and offers you 5GB data transfer for a single flat rate of $60.00 per month.

Customer Service: Customer service for easyedge by US Cellular is available via a toll free phone number and email.

Credit Check: Yes

Contract: There is no minimum contract requirement for mobile wireless internet plans, however, you can get discounted equipment when signing up for a contract.

Payment Options: Payments can be made online by visiting the US Cellular website or by telephone, in retail stores and by postal mail. Payments are accepted in the form of check, cash, credit card and debit card.

Bandwidth Restrictions: Speeds can range between a data transfer speed of 40-60 kbps.

Activation Fee: There is an activation fee of $30.00 to begin US Cellular’s easyedge mobile broadband service.  This fee can be waived in some circumstances.

Cancellation Fee: The maximum cancellation fee for discontinuing your US Cellular easyedge wireless internet service while still under contract is $150.00.

Roaming Charges: Roaming charges with easyedge depends on what carrier you end up roaming on outside the US Cellular network. Please call customer service to ask about the data rates you’ll be charged depending on the network available at the place you’ve roamed.

Modems and PC Cards: US Cellular offers the ExpressCard modem, made by Kyocera, for the mobile broadband service or the UT Starcom UM175. The Keyocera modem retails for $99.00 with the UT Starcom model going for $49.95.

Some of the Available Modems and PC Cards are listed below:
Kyocera ExpressCard KPC680 (shown)
UT Starcom UM175

Coverage Map: US Cellular easyedge Coverage Map
 

Average Ratings (from 12 ratings)
Price
Speed
Support
Average Rating

{ 12 comments… read them below or add one }

LeeMartino October 7, 2008 at 1:46 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

We tried this out with a couple of the sales guys from the office. They hated it and found the service to be very patchy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

John h February 6, 2009 at 10:12 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

It works but is so slow I really don’t like it. Can’t get a good signal (one bar usually) and did I say slow?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

bock April 28, 2010 at 6:12 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

US Cellular Broadband air card worked okay, but their .49 cents per MB overage charge (over 5GB) and the fact they STILL have NO automated way to check how close you are to the download limit… RUN. Your monthly bill could be up to $250.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

11 / 12 found this review helpful.

Reply

Josh August 2, 2010 at 7:42 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

This was a horrible experience. The taxes added to the monthly fee are crazy high just like a cell phone. First couple months my useage was under a gig then all of a sudden I was over 5 gigs and had a $300 bill!! Then, I really limited my useage and still this month I’m about to go over again! I can’t easily check my useage and they don’t have a larger plan and they can’t even notify you if you’re getting close!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

11 / 11 found this review helpful.

Reply

tammy September 4, 2010 at 2:46 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

it really sucks that thay charge so much for their service. you cant limit usage with a family of 4 thay get enough money out of their phones it should b unlimited 4 internet.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

Lucy December 31, 2010 at 6:46 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I really get bad internet receptions. Half the time the little green arrows are showing not transmitting and not receiving. I don’t know if it is the area in which I live or what. I have done prl updates, but that doesn’t help. I wish another cell tower was installed in this area.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Travis May 15, 2011 at 12:18 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

It seems like there is a problem with the way they are charging people overage when you cannot accurately keep track of your usage. If you cannot accurately keep track of your usage how can they? I have experienced the $250 bill some have been talking about and I am sure there is more. If a company continues to mislead people into believing they are under the usage and you keep track of your counter then shut you down because you have went way over the limit is very bad business. They also do not tell you that when you delete your history that it affects your data usage counter as well. I am now sure how many people have been affected by this sort of situation but it is starting to sound like there could be enough to support a class action lawsuit against US Cellular. Been a cell customer since 1997, after current contracts are up will look elsewhere.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

mike fisher August 12, 2011 at 4:51 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

let me know im with you on the lawsuit, there trying to charge me for 2 months of service i did not use, turned it over to a collection agency. even after i called and cancelled the service. I have called customer service severall times and still no help. Now i am calling there cooperate office.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Cindy July 26, 2011 at 3:41 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

We too have found out the hard way about our usage. We were fine for months, and then all the sudden we were over and over each month, even checking the usage thru the customer service we have been over and we are not doing anything different. Something has happened and I believe they are over charging people for access.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Doug R. September 26, 2011 at 7:32 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

SO glad I checked this site, I was about to place my order for an aircard today…WOW. I should know better anyhow, their service on phone isn’t much to write home about either, why would I think their modem would be better. ugh, oh well, will see how the only other one compares.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Dawn October 24, 2011 at 3:42 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I hear ya all, Had about anuff with these *%*#. Nothing but problems with the phone and wireless modem. When we call them they say it is our computer not them.We took them into a repair person at us cell store and he put the modem in his computer and we saw our pictures on his screen. That pissed me off and I told him that is not what we were thier for. He was to fix it so it would not have to be reinstaled every mo. It kept staling every mo. And still dose They said it is your computer but we had that looked at and they say it is us cell. We have had it for 11 mo. now and if we can hold out untill spring they are bringing cable to our area. We live 12 miles from any town so it has taken a long time. Then I will call consumer protection on US CELL. You all like that too, I if you are a new coustmer no contrac but if you already had one your stuck with it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

David Frease February 26, 2012 at 4:56 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I agree with the comments I’ve read above I had no idea I was being charged that much for DownLoad I’ve been a customer with us cell for a couple years I have a modem with this price of $200.00 from $61.00 I’ll most likely pay my bill and find another company David Frease

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Leave a Comment

Click stars below to rate.
Price
Speed
Support