Wireless Internet Reviews

Sprint Mobile Broadband Service for Wireless Internet

Overview

Sprint

Editor's Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Serving over 52 million customers, Sprint-Nextel is the third largest wireless carrier in the United States. Sprint’s home offices are located in Overland Park, Kansas.

In 2005 Sprint purchased Nextel for 35 billion dollars, mainly dropping the Nextel name and logo from use on any products aside from the iDEN walkie talkie phones. They claim the largest mobile broadband service in the United States and currently pave the way in adopting wireless internet technology.

Pros: The Sprint mobile broadband service has the fastest posted speeds of any other wireless internet provider. There is no activation fee, a wide range of modems and the service itself is competitively priced. The service also includes some roaming and allows for additional roaming.

Cons: Sprint does charge a cancellation fee of 200 dollars if you cancel before the end of their two year mandatory contract.


Detailed Provider Information

Plans: Sprint offers one mobile broadband plan. Their mobile broadband connection plan comes with 5 gigabytes of data transfer for one flat rate of $59.99 per month. It also comes with 300 megabytes per month of roaming off the Sprint network. There a charge of 5 cents per megabyte for going over the 5 gig limit.

There is a second tier of Mobile Broadband available from Sprint for customers in the Baltimore area.  For $79.99 you can access the brand new 4G network with unlimited bandwidth and 5GB of bandwidth on the 3G network.  All other plan features are identical to the $59.99 plan.

Customer Service: Customer service for the Sprint mobile broadband service is available via a toll free number 24 hours a day, seven days per week. Additionally, customer service is also available via email, online chat and at Sprint retail locations.

Credit Check: Yes

Contract: Yes, there is a two year contract requirement for the Sprint mobile broadband plans.

Payment Options: Payments can be made for Sprint mobile broadband via telephone, online, by mail or at Sprint retail locations. Payments in the form of cash, check, money order, credit cards, debit cards, pre-authorized direct debit and electronic funds transfer are accepted.

Bandwidth Restrictions: Sprint boasts itself as the largest mobile broadband network in the United States with the fastest posted speeds. Upload speeds range from 350-500 kbps peaking at 1.8 mbps and download speeds range from 600-1400 kbps peaking at 3.1 mbps.

Activation Fee: There is no activation fee to start with Sprint’s broadband service.

Cancellation Fee: The maximum cancellation fee for discontinuing your Sprint wireless internet service while still under contract is $200.00.

Roaming Charges: The Sprint broadband plan includes 300 megabytes of roaming each month. Anything over 300 megabytes is charged at 5 cents per megabytes.

Modems and PC Cards: Sprint offers a wide variety of PC Cards and USB key modems ranging in price from $0 (with instant rebates and contract agreements) to $329.99 (assuming no instant savings or contract agreements).

Some of the Available Modems and PC Cards are listed below:
Sierra Wireless 598U USB key with MicroSD Slot
Novatel Merlin C777 ExpressCard
Sierra Aircard 402 PC Card
Sierra Aircard 595 AirCard (shown)

Coverage Map: Sprint Mobile Broadband Coverage Map

Average Ratings (from 13 ratings)
Price
Speed
Support
Average Rating

{ 13 comments… read them below or add one }

Ron October 1, 2008 at 12:22 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Used to use AT&T but find Sprint mobile broadband much more reliable. A bit cheaper than AT&T but we are still getting shafted on data rates. Had some pretty good speeds with Sprint but like all other networks they are a long way off what I’d call broadband speeds.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

spintox October 7, 2008 at 12:42 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Set this up at home and worked well for about 2 months. Customer service was terrible and tried to tell me nothing was wrong. Eventually they sent me another modem and service worked well for about another month then the speeds dropped again. Now stuck with a crappy connection speed and facing a large cancellation fee. Not worth the hassle!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

7 / 7 found this review helpful.

Reply

Mike the Maverick October 7, 2008 at 3:57 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I’ve been stuck with dialup for too long. So when I found out EVDO and wireless internet I thought I’d give Sprint a try as I already have a phone with them. So far so good, it’s better than my old dial up connection.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Melissa January 17, 2009 at 2:50 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Im still under the 30 days so I soon shall be taking mine back. I get basically no reception for it in my house even if I have it right near a window. They lied to me about coverage ALOT.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 6 found this review helpful.

Reply

Dawn May 7, 2009 at 3:12 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Just got mine and of course found out that I also get hardly any reception. I was told that if I had good cell phone reception, I would have good reception with this too. Great theory!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

Kimberly April 30, 2010 at 10:45 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I was with another major carrier for years but the customer service and increasing fees really left a bad taste in my mouth. I decided to take my mom’s advice and give Sprint a try and I have to say, the calling network is amazing! Their 4G network is pretty awesome – I have great coverage in Miami (a mjaor plus) and no roaming charges. So far, Sprint has been a great money saving and time saving tool. But not everyone is as lucky as me to make such a choice.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

John Cormier November 29, 2010 at 11:51 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

sprint has a 5g limit on broadband so if you have teenagers at home this could cost you over 500 a month like me. Like everyone i never seen the 5g limit on the contract in fine print. Its a nickle for ever mb over. I would look into some other plan.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

Matt S January 13, 2011 at 1:28 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Most of the wireless providers have the same basic contracts and prices. I have AT&T, and have checked Sprint, Verizon and some others, and found that 5 GB’s for $60 a month is about the basic price for them all. Even the 5 cents per MB overage is the same, as AT&T just did this change in November of 2010. They WERE charging $.48 per MB before then.

I do believe that the regulatory bodies that be forced them to change their overage charges.

They all pretty much suck at times, but what can you do?! Since they are all priced pretty much the same, you really don’t have all that much of a choice to save a few schekels.

I started with 2 USB wireless adapters @ $60 per adapter per month for 5 GB’s each, one for my wifes laptop, and 1 for my home desktop. Because I use my desktop everyday, i was going over the 5 GB limit constantly. Because of the 48 cents per MB overage charges, which increased my bill greatly! My average bill (with 4 cellphones and 2 adapters) without the overage charges was about $290 a month, but was running $600++ per month. Considering the overage charges, I was forced to get a 3rd. adapter at ANOTHER $60 per month, in order to eliminate the overage charges which was costing over $200+, so I figured I was saving at least some money. My average bill now is about $350 a month with the 4 cell phones and 3 adapters.

Even now that they have lowered the overage charges to $.05 cents per MB over the 5 GB limit, it would only give me another 1.2 GB’s for the $60, when I can pay $60 and get 5 GB’s with the new adapter.

All in all, you’re gonna pay no matter what!

Moan and cry all we want to, the only way to save money is not use the devices and live like we did before all the technological advances, but then… who’s gonna do that?!?

Just my 2 cents worth. :0)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

10 / 10 found this review helpful.

Reply

brandy January 29, 2011 at 5:16 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I just bought a new laptop and got the new 3g/4g hotspot device it works every now and then which is upsetting because im scared to do homework on it because i might get dropped. Of course i’m stuck with this dam contract.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

Alan February 3, 2011 at 10:50 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Sprint has very little reception in rural areas of Oregon. T Mobile or Verizon will work much better here. I have had nothing but trouble. Very poor service throughout their system

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Debra March 22, 2011 at 11:04 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

What a Nightmare!!! I am on my third card! This one started acting worse than the last. BUT… because SPRINT lost the last card that I sent back (in the return envelope they sent me w/ the address imprinted on it) … I have to use the mail because of a disability – I cannot drive and have no way to get to Sprint stores — they refuse to send me another, unless I pay $150 for said lost card that SPRINT lost. Makes absolutely NO sense. What do I want with a card that does not work. Oh yea …. I wanted to hang it on my wall … to REMIND ME NEVER TO GET ANYTHING FROM SPRINT AGAIN!!!!!!!
1. Was told price was $20.00 dollars a month less (I gave them what I could afford on a fixed income).
2. In the past eight months – not one month has had the correct bill. They always seem to be more than they should be of course. I always must call in to get it fixed – usually having to ask for supervisors 2-3 times (3- – 40 min. per month). Have not been found in the wrong once. In eight months!
3. Have 4 G about 15 % of the time if I am lucky. Yet I live in a very highly rated area.
4. Have to call repair to get help to get my card up at least 2 – 3 times per month.
I will stop here, although I could go on – you get the picture.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 6 found this review helpful.

Reply

FREDA June 8, 2011 at 8:10 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Have had Sprint SIERA WIRELESS 597 for 3 years, have a notebook of problems . Decided to update to 598 or newer version after 2 year contract was up… What a mess, finally took it back, reinstalled old 597, and have used another year–traveled a lot– again lots of problems.. Am currently shopping for something better?? just want to be able to get on line and stay–at a reasonable rate, without problems. ANY SUGGESTIONS??????

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

ummmmm February 23, 2012 at 9:44 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

REALLY PEOPLE!?!?!?! stop complaining about getting bumfudged by the prices( which you most definitely ARE getting bumfudged) and get Home internet, can u really not live without internet everywhere u go?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

Leave a Comment

Click stars below to rate.
Price
Speed
Support