Wireless Internet Reviews

Cricket Wireless Mobile Broadband Service

Overview

Cricket

Editor's Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Founded in 1999, Cricket Communications is a subsidiary of Leap Wireless based in San Diego, California.

Largely known as a prepaid wireless provider, Cricket made the move to becoming a mobile broadband provider as well. Their move into wireless internet has been small until now offering service in only three cities – Albuquerque, Nashville, and Santa Fe.

Pros: The Cricket mobile broadband service is extremely well priced, has no cancellation fee or contract and also doesn’t require a credit check to get started.

Cons: The Cricket wireless internet service is only available in three metropolitan areas at the moment (they are planning to expand) and only has two options as far as available modems. The extremely limited service area unfortunately lowered their editorial review score.


Detailed Provider Information

Plans: Cricket Wireless mobile broadband service is available under one plan and costs $40.00 per month. The plan includes "unlimited internet access" (as is traditional with most companies however, if your usage goes above five gigabytes per month, you may get a call from customer service). Customers with a Cricket wireless voice line save 5 dollars per month on service.

Customer Service: Customer service for Cricket Wireless mobile broadband service is available via toll free number Monday-Friday from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m., on Saturday from 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. and on Sunday from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. CST. You can also reach the automated system via the toll free number twenty-four hours a day, seven days per week.

Credit Check: No

Contract: No

Payment Options: Payments can be made online, in person at any Cricket Wireless retail location or by telephone by credit card, debit card, check or cash. Payments can also be pre-authorized to go through automatically via credit card.

Bandwidth Restrictions: The data transfer speed of the Cricket Wireless connect ranges from average speeds of 400-700kbps downlink and 40-60kbps uplink.

Activation Fee: There is an activation fee of $25.00 to get started with the Cricket Wireless mobile broadband service.

Cancellation Fee: The is no cancellation fee if you decide to discontinue your Cricket mobile broadband service.

Roaming Charges: The Cricket wireless internet service only works on the Cricket network within three cities (see map below). There is no way to roam, so therefore there are no roaming charges.

Modems and PC Cards: Cricket wireless broadband internet offers one Broadband card and one USB key modem for purchase ranging from free (after mail-in rebate, for a limited time) to about sixty dollars.

Some of the Available Modems and PC Cards are listed below:
Kyocera Broadband Card
A600 USB Broadband Modem (shown)

Coverage Map: Cricket Mobile Broadband Coverage Map
 
 

Average Ratings (from 128 ratings)
Price
Speed
Support
Average Rating

{ 128 comments… read them below or add one }

Kelly Hampton January 31, 2009 at 11:48 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

If I had the option to give less than one star, I would have. In fact, I would give it -5 stars. Horrible service! Broadband? No sir. Narrowband. Cricket has created a new kind of internet service. This is A tiny cell phone type device that provides Dial up service. 400-700 kbps? You could never be so lucky. More like, 2-15 kbps.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

53 / 56 found this review helpful.

Reply

Alex Hidalgo February 25, 2009 at 8:05 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

This service sucks, really realy sucks, its slow, kind of reliable, but area coverage is limited, and if you need to download music from itunes or see videos in youtube the 5 gigabytes will burn very quickly, i just hope i can get my comcast service soon to use it at home and just use cricket to access my emails when im away from home. very very bad.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

26 / 36 found this review helpful.

Reply

Javi March 14, 2009 at 12:04 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

yeah it does suck you cant see any videos because it takes forever the only thing its good for is downloading music and even that takes long I dont recomand buying this peice of junk.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

19 / 21 found this review helpful.

Reply

suprised March 15, 2009 at 6:32 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

well all i know is i have a coworker who has it and its fast and cheap, in this area (Tulsa,OK) I have seen and have watched him cruise youtube videos with no lag whatsoever, this is what impresed me, gonna go get mine next week. 4 stars only because i dont have it but i have used it on friends laptop.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 21 found this review helpful.

Reply

Ben March 30, 2009 at 11:44 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

i think it works great, i watch videos with ease and web pages come up pretty fast, although sometimes it just disconnects by itself sometimes, but it works fine where i live (Glendale, AZ)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 17 found this review helpful.

Reply

Ratna July 18, 2009 at 3:53 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

This is a horrible company to work with AFTER you receive the product. My product would not work at all – no installation, no activation. They refused to help me with it (tech support my ass) and then, would not refund my fees even though I could not even activate it. DO NOT GET THIS OR EVEN TRY IT! Oh I forgot the mention the moron who took my order misspelled my name and I never got a confirmation email (most likely cause he could not spell YAHOO).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

16 / 16 found this review helpful.

Reply

Maddie July 21, 2009 at 5:33 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

be warned: if you get this piece of junk service your laptop will explode in to a million pieces….. when you get so frustrated after trying to download a 4mb file that takes you 45 minutes because you get kicked off in the middle of download 8 times and that quick email you just want to read which would ordinarily take about 30 seconds to do turns in to a 30 minute ordeal you’ll end up throwing your laptop across the room and smash. save your money, time and sanity and stay away from cricket. snail mail is faster.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

14 / 16 found this review helpful.

Reply

Brian September 2, 2009 at 12:50 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

How can you call this “broadband”????
Only reason I gave it 2 stars is because of the price and no extra charges over 5GB in the month. Only truly unlimited mobile broadband service I know of. (the rub: service is so slow it would take you 4 mos to down load 5GB of data)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

13 / 16 found this review helpful.

Reply

Chuck September 23, 2009 at 1:27 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

It’s abysmal! The service is SOOO slow, you can’t do anything other than just check static pages. Even THAT can take a moment, but all the extra media you have come to associate with the internet is just so impractical it’s not even worth the bother. If you have another option, take it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

10 / 10 found this review helpful.

Reply

dencoman October 18, 2009 at 8:23 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I had broadband before this isnt even close, i cant watch videos unless i have an hour to load it, ive spent so much time waiting i had to change my settings so my screen dont go away thinking i got off. But I need it right now and dont have another way to do it, but this really sucks! What should take an hour takes 3 when i think its working i leave,come back 20min later nothings loaded. my son 11 was all happy i got my computer running till he got on it and tried to watch video. He wont even use it. He dont have to, poor me i do!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

15 / 15 found this review helpful.

Reply

reviewer007 November 10, 2009 at 10:06 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Unfortunately the speeds are no where near advertised. A connection in downtown Chicago will give 18KB/s at best.
(I’ve been benchmarking it for 2 hours.)
If you’re looking to update your playlist et.al, Cricket is not for you. At these transfer rates your files will update in about 10 hours.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

9 / 9 found this review helpful.

Reply

josht November 17, 2009 at 7:37 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

what a rip off, i would never suggest this shit to anyone. this is false advertisment saying its broadband. its either disconnecting on me or only transfering at 15-30kbps i know dialup can be faster then that. please dont buy this save the money

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

9 / 9 found this review helpful.

Reply

Talented Talker December 2, 2009 at 3:34 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Garbage. The service is horrible. The service tech did everything short of challenging me to a fist fight when I asked questions about my so-called billing/bungling phone and “wireless dial-up.” It was initially part of a reward system for my 10 and 12 year old kids to play vids via the laptop on the way to school. They don’t even ask anymore. Horrible.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

11 / 11 found this review helpful.

Reply

Santa Fe New Mexican December 23, 2009 at 12:12 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Terrible service. Wrong billing. Non-operating programs. Poor connection. Damage to your computer. THIS IS A SCAM.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

9 / 9 found this review helpful.

Reply

Mari January 20, 2010 at 4:58 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

It totally sucks can’t watch videos or video streaming & it’s constantly quits working while in on the Internet. I hate it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

12 / 12 found this review helpful.

Reply

MAZ February 4, 2010 at 11:53 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

SIMPLE: I used it te first day and threw it away the next days….SUX SUX SUX SUX don’t fall for it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

11 / 11 found this review helpful.

Reply

control-z February 7, 2010 at 2:00 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Way too slow. Congress should call in Criket for a hearing! They are ripping us off!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

9 / 10 found this review helpful.

Reply

Tristan D February 7, 2010 at 2:04 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I got Cricket for 2 reasons: 1) to reduce the costs of my ego-casting activities, i.e., the price of technologies in my life, and 2) for work. I work for school districts and pick up jobs on their employee management websites. My history: a decade on standard dial-up—slow, freezes, can’t get YouTube, the usual. But dial-up is not cheap–my land line nearing $50.00/month and $20.95 for the ISP, didn’t use phone for talking much either. Impressions of Cricket: Better than dial-up, mobile!!, but not as good as AT&T wifi at Starbucks. YouTube drags on Cricket but for my original intentions, that is, to be able to pick up a job anywhere I am here in this CA county, it’s good, faster. I’m switching to a cheap dial-up for back-up and figure a cost cut of $400.00/yr. If you’re looking for gaming or lots of fancy vids, etc., get a higher-priced service. But if your needs are simple like mine, Cricket might serve your purposes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

6 / 13 found this review helpful.

Reply

blue February 7, 2010 at 10:27 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

This Criket really is sloooooooooooow. Warning, do not buy especially in PacNw…

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

6 / 6 found this review helpful.

Reply

BadCricket February 12, 2010 at 8:43 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

My Wife and I both have cricket phone service. So we decided to get cricket broadband as well. The advertisement said unlimited broadband at blazing speeds for $40 a month. Perfect! So, three wks ago we bought it. It was slow from the instant it connected. We thought maybe it was the pc, it wasn’t, that pc crashed a wk ago and we bought another that pcpitstop.com rated as one of the fastest computers available. Now its rated in the bottom one percent.

So we call “customer service” the woman from a country that doesn’t speak english very well sounded as if we were keeping her from something far more exciting than her job.

She ran us through a “system check list” and told us someone would contact us in 3-5 days.

That came and went, we called back, They ran us through the same little list and told us someone would call.

On the third time we called he ran us through a site speakeasy.net on which there’s a link at the very bottom that you have to search for to check your speeds, my speed was dl:148 ul:200. When they told us someone would call in 48-72 hours we refused to hang up, asking instead that they transfer us to the tech department, so that we can have the service the commercials promised, they did “something” in the computer and told me to retest, i did and both my download and upload speeds were over 400. i was happy they were happy.

As soon as we disconnected the call the speed dropped, we called back and the person said that they weren’t going to do anything about the issue because we hadn’t given them permission when we called the first time. The agent was interrupting everything my wife said, and threatened to hang up on my wife because I was talking in the backround to someone else. The wait time to even speak to someone was well over half an hour. When my wife asked to speak with a supervisor the call was disconnected.

There’s no “contact us” link on the cricket webpage to make a complaint. There is however a chat live option. You click it and it gives you a list of topics to help narrow it down. when you click on your issue it takes you to a website that has nothing to do with your issue, the only way to chat live is to click on new purchase questions. That’s where you’ll find kristian from USA to help you find the perfect gadget, but no way of taking your complaints.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

18 / 18 found this review helpful.

Reply

Tristan D February 14, 2010 at 6:34 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Update: I’ve had a chance to play with the modem a bit and with info from acreativedesktop.com, I upped the speed setting from 28kbps to 921 which seems to be the max setting configuration. Tried YouTube, still a lag time just a little shorter. Maybe in an area with “excellent” coverage it would be better. Updated Flashplayer, didn’t help. Other than that, am now more satisfied with my Cricket modem since it’s loading faster after just a little tweak.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 6 found this review helpful.

Reply

Art March 21, 2010 at 11:03 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I have had it for over 5 months now, and it is without a doubt the biggest waste of money that I have ever spent. I live in Chicago, at best I get a “Good Reception” signal; I have only seen a “Excellent(?)” bar rarely – the question mark is because it shows up so damn fast and disappears that I do not even recognize it. I constantly have connection problems, right in the middle of doing things, it will drop, and then refuse to log back in for a while. Customer service has had me online several times and all they suggest is turn off computer, unplug the modem, restart, and then plug it in again, and see how that works. Forget it if you want to download something… I have to go to an internet cafe to do that. So what good is Cricket for? Loading a page, going to get something to drink, and coming back in a few minutes to see how it is going. It took 4 hours for a 100mb file download. I’m thinking about just going back to the cafes!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

7 / 7 found this review helpful.

Reply

John D March 25, 2010 at 7:23 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Terrible.
Average speed under excellent connection 4.1 kbps, download speed 1.0 kbps.
I’ve done just about everything to try to get it to go faster, nothing works.
Tried to switch the dns servers, it won’t connect. went into the properties and set max speed to 921, no difference.
It never has a stable stream, 1 second it’s at 4.1 kbps and a second later 19.21 kbps, 12.43 kpbs, 123 kbps, 16 kbps, 4.1 kbps, 0 kbps. Never a consistent stream.
Dial up is faster then this piece of shit and it doesn’t cost $40.00 a month!
Broadband speed…Imagine that.
I tried to download a 165mb file, said it would take almost 2 days!!
This company needs to be sued for false advertisements and scamming the public out of there money so their shareholders could make a buck.
Forget about watching youtube, unless you enjoy 1 second of show and 3 mins of buffer time for 1 more second of show.
If this is broadband then I’m the Easter Bunny!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

13 / 13 found this review helpful.

Reply

Poppi March 26, 2010 at 2:45 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

No youtube…takes to long, can’t play videos…..good for checking static pages on the run…do not get if you like watching videos.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

8 / 8 found this review helpful.

Reply

not a fan April 7, 2010 at 5:04 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

The only thing that sucks worse than this good for nothing modem is the Cricket Customer service and tech support. When I called to see about why my computer was so slow I was told someone would call me in 72 hours which is an extremely large window to be expected to be waiting around my computer, but since it was a weekend, i did it. When no one called me within 72 hours, I was told they were moving me to a tier2 and someone would be contacting me withing 48 hours. I was pissed, but fine. When no one called me withing 48 hours, I called back and was told my issue was going to moved to a tier3 and someone would contact me within 48 hours. Completely unprofessional! And still no one called me. I gave up, my month will be over in a few days and I will not be renewing service for another month. This was not the first time I was lied to by a Cricket rep. And there is nothing they can do to help but read you a script stating that someone else would be contacting me about the problem. This company needs to be reported to the Better Business Bureau, they are scammers and liars.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

11 / 11 found this review helpful.

Reply

Guest April 16, 2010 at 1:01 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I’d put “No stars” if the option existed..this company sucks..it takes all day to download anything and they said “unlimited net” then when my computer started running slow I thought it was my laptop but come to find ou its cricket’s crappy isp service..first of all I was told it was unlimited..then come to find out AFTER it ran slow that, when I called customer service its only 5 gigs a month!! Such a rip off! Do NOT BUY THIS ITS A WASTE OF MONEY!! If I knew it would suck this bad I’d quit it if it weren’t for the fact that I need it to do job searches cus its all I have.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

11 / 11 found this review helpful.

Reply

Escobar April 18, 2010 at 7:22 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I got cricket just because I couldn’t get my dsl move to my new address, this service really sucks is too sloooow I cant watch videos on you tube, and it takes forever to download music, I don’t know why they call it broadband they should call it wireless dial up, even my verizon dsl was faster than this bull***t service. I waste my money on this and I couldn’t return the modem because they said I use it for more than 30 minutes. DO NOT GET CRICKET. I would like to get my dsl back but is not available in my area so I’m thinking to get comcast of fios.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

8 / 8 found this review helpful.

Reply

amadrver April 19, 2010 at 12:07 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Nation wide must be some small unknown nation.Service is LOUSY at best RVers BEWARE a big rip off

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

7 / 7 found this review helpful.

Reply

Kassy April 27, 2010 at 11:57 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

its too slow! seriously ive used dial up faster then this! i have the $60/month plan and its soposto stream video’s and have a fast downloading speed but it doesnt it takes 5 minutes to load a youtube video! I also like to download movies and music, but it takes a day and a half to download a movie!! it also takes forever to load web pages! I wouldent recommend this to anyone…..unless they were an enemy! it really sucks because with the activation fee and buying the card it cost me $100!!! I had comcast before, and i recommend getting that it works so much better

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

3Storms May 5, 2010 at 1:25 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Cricket is the worst internet service ever. It NEVER runs at broadband speeds (that is a blatant lie and Cricket should be sued for false advertising). Every single month, one week before the next bill is due, I get hit with HUNDREDS of random disconnects set up by Cricket to bully me into pay the bill early, and once the bill is paid, the problem with random disconnects magically goes away until a week before the next bill is due. That’s on top of them always throttling the speed to below-dial-up speeds a week before the next bill is due.

They throttle speeds for EVERYTHING where you actually need broadband. a 27-Mb file to download and install Firefox took 40 minutes. Youtube videos take up to an hour to load.

This service is a scam and they sell it on lies of reliable broadband service. The FCC needs to go after them hard. They’re liars and frauds, plain and simple. You do not get what you pay for.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

htc May 11, 2010 at 8:00 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

This company in every way, the people at the store, billing dept, tech support. Everything about them is terrible When I made my second payment via credit card (paid first month in the store with cash) they cut my service off because they did not process the credit card properly.Then I had to pay $10.00 to reconnect. Now I have a signal problem and tech support agrees the modem is bad and indicated on my account of this and told me to ask the Cricket Store to read the account and they should give me a new modem. Yet they still want me to pay $35.00 to replace a deffective modem were they would just send back to the manufacture for a free one. I would send it back myself but decline to do so because of all the down time. Do not go Cricket.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 6 found this review helpful.

Reply

df May 27, 2010 at 1:20 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

really sucks, seems to constantly block/unable to access certain sites, such as gmail which i gave them as my contact address, very fustrating, not worth the money at all!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

Jackie Serrato June 1, 2010 at 3:45 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I hate it. I installed Cricket Broadband about a week ago and I have had nothing but trouble from day one. I cannot count, in the course of a day (or evening, or middle of the night) how often the connection fails and whatever you are working on is GONE. I literally have to unplug/re-plug it in order to reconnect. I will never use Cricket again and regret I did not do with another provider. Broadband seems to be a great technology, based on reviews, but I do not recommend Cricket to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

allen June 4, 2010 at 9:01 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

ok near towers otherwise cheap, however my verizon does not work any better just more places you can use it both suck speed wise.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

Cricket is Crap June 11, 2010 at 8:30 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Worst piece of crap I’ve ever used.
Don’t believe the B.S. “tools” feature.
Instead, do the “CTRL-ALT-DEL” thing, and select the “Networking” tab.
You’ll note the MAXIMUM – EVER speed is 230Kbps, and typically it’s 0.5 to 15 percent of that- figure about half the speed of dial up, AT BEST.
And for half an hour AT A TIME, it’s ZERO on weekends and weeknight.
TOTAL P.O.S.
(And I live in an area with strong signal strength).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

Kathryn June 17, 2010 at 2:14 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Sucks big time. Freezes every ten minutes and takes at least 15 to get back on…..so you better do what you have to do in a hurry.

What usually takes me an hour to do online takes me at lest 3 (or more) hours.

I will be getting FIOS next month.

I seriously would rather have dial up if I had to choose between this and dial up. It’s that bad.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Slowband June 18, 2010 at 9:32 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

If there was minus 5* I would have put it.
to watch a video of 21 minutes on HULU, with this “boringband” service it would take you an hour or more. Connection is never steady.. when you first connect it goes to 500kbps and then drops to 74kbps or lower..To watch Youtube you have to start the video, pause it and wait for it to charge..It reminds me of the Dialup era. on top of that you get charged $3 for paying inside a store and $2 to pay over the phone. the only way to pay without a charge is to go online. I am wondering if the T-mobile broadband is any better. waiting to move to a different location to switch service. otherwise I would have unsubscribed a while ago. This is in Boise, the capital city..I don’t know how their service is in rural areas.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

Patty June 24, 2010 at 1:26 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

My desk top died and I decied to get a laptop. I had been using dial up for years, but the laptop isn’t set up for dial up, so I needed something. Since I wanted to use the new computer ASAP for work I got the Cricket modem.

Problems:

1. Activating it over the phone was extremely difficult as the tech person spoke English as a third language.

2. The modem worked terrific for about two weeks. Hulu and You Tube videos loaded with no lag time at all. Now it’s like dail up. All of a sudden everything slowed down.

I read online that after using about 5 GB a month everything slows.

Pros: I like the mobility–using it on the computer on the patio, or in my living room.

Cons: All of the above problems plus this little rip off:

Cricket says you can go to ANY store to pay the monthly bill. I went to the store on Grant and Amherst streets in Buffalo. The said I could only pay it at the store I purchased the modem at (Best Buy). Since I don’t drive this would be a HUGE problem.

Then the scam–cancel my Cricket and open a new account at THEIR store. In other words, they wanted the commission.

F—em.

I’m sending a letter to the Better Business Bureau.

I’ll probably keep it for now, since I like the mobility but will eventually switch to DSL or cable. Cable here at about $29 a month would be cheaper to.

My Cricket plan is for $50.

OT: The guys at Best Buy were wonderful, unlike the scammers and idiots at Cricket.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

Fuad Kamal June 25, 2010 at 5:57 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

The actual broadband service works great in our area (DC Metro) but the company’s customer support is NONEXISTENT. I had to call their number ten times – every time the computer system would answer, refuse let me speak to a human being, and then hang up on me. When I finally did manage to get through, it was only to speak to their call center in India, who stated quite directly, ‘we can’t help you, go to a Cricket store’. So Cricket is relying on their retail resellers as the only means of customer support. I have never been to a Cricket store (I got my broadband cards shipped to me) so no idea how the retail service is.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

sick-0 July 2, 2010 at 2:19 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

this thing is very wack idnt even know why we got this its not recommenable..??its jst a waste of money forreal its really slow and takes minues and minutes to jst open a paqe and to go to a site..

–rate it a -5

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

Devon July 3, 2010 at 9:48 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

This thing sucks but its the only thing i can afford right now but it disconnects by itself like 10 times a day i would be on the internet and then it would just shut itself down by itself i dont like this at all and it takes forever to load a simple page wouldnt recommend it…

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

birdy July 4, 2010 at 1:00 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Cricket sucks. I’ve probably spent as much time simply getting disconnected and reconnecting than I have actually spent online!

companies like this have caused our country to become but an empty shell of what it once represented.

All we’ve got left are unscrupulous money grubbers, willing to lie, cheat or steal their way through life…

Oh yeah… and us poor slob victims…

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

J Seward July 11, 2010 at 2:43 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

This is not worth the money or the aggravation Cricket is G A R B A G E! I WILL NOT CONTINUE USING THIS SERVICE AFTER THIS MONTH. What was I thinking? Cricket has never been anything short of a ripoff trifling company,out sourced and it totally sucks with this broadband. I’ve tried the phone service and had a bad experience too! 40 dollars and fees is too much to pay for this slow unreliable broadband. I wish I had never wasted my money on this crap!!!It started out decent and now it’s miserable. Cricket your crappy company should sink to hell!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Wally July 12, 2010 at 1:54 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

If only they would allow you to give negative stars. For one its slow as heck and you cant do youtube or any other modern site. Apparently it was intended for broadband email only lmfao. Called them and they are to be barely understood. You get some guy from india that has no clue what you are saying and that cannot be understood himself. All things aside I think it should be illegal to sell this service as any sort of unlimited anything. I had been a customer of cricket for years but after being hosed with this crappy product and service I will be going back to my classic cell phone. They may be screwing me but at least they are honest about it!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Devyn July 14, 2010 at 9:34 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

WARNING: NEVER GET CRIKET WIRELESS. they have CONSISTENTLY debited prior to the debit date, screwed me on service and are now deliberating on whether or not they should refund my money for the month of service I won’t use… for the next 7-14 BUSINESS DAYS. then i can “check in” and see if it is going to go back into my account. CROOKED COMPANY, NOT WORTH THE MONEY.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

crktuser July 14, 2010 at 11:56 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Cricket Broadband is garbage… The day I bought it, the service was ok. Ever since that day it has been soooooo slow. I have only used around 1 GB of my 5 GB per month. Do they throttle after 1 GB or 5 GB is my question. Anyway save your money for a better service is my opinion.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

AnotherGuest July 29, 2010 at 11:37 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Cricket Broadband is a Scam. They falsely advertise unlimited monthly service. After a few days of regular internet use–a few hours a day at most–my service was cut because I apparently went over a monthly usage “cap.” The internet was unusable as no pages would upload, but they claimed that since the modem reported a connection, I still “technically” had internet access. To actually use the internet, I would have had to pay them a series of additional fees. Avoid the scam.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

Tarasjoy August 10, 2010 at 3:50 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

My first connection with Cricket was to purchase its broadband unit. Especially since you received a $50 rebate from the company for purchasing their product. I thought great idea! Boy was I wrong, I followed the salesreps advise on what to mail in to receive my $50 Visa rebate. I mailed it off that same night after I purchased the product. I waited for several weeks with no reponse, then finally contacting a Cricket store in my area, I was then told they received my rebate paperwork 45 days after I mailed it off so I was not eligible for the rebate. First of all it doesnt take 45 days to get from Tucson,Arizona to El Pase,Texas. Second, the address for the rebate is sent to a PO Box, so it sits there until one of the representatives decides to go pick up the mail. So how did my rebate information sit there until they picked it up? I would say 30 days, long enough so they wouldnt have to send out the Visa rebate card. I find this method of luring customers in with false advertising only for their own monetary gain to be inspecable.Several of my friends have also had the same situation happen when they too sent off their rebate information. I find their have no scruples and this kind of advertising should not be allowed to continue.
0 Stars for the company and for the customer service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

sharon August 11, 2010 at 10:53 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

i fell for the commercials too, it is slooowwww, freezes and disconnects by itself, i have a magic jack for home service they are not compatible at all. like the saying goes you get what you pay for. this is so sad. i expected more.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

LEWE August 12, 2010 at 6:31 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I DON’T GET IT ? i HAVE NO PROBLEMS. vERY FAST UTUBE VIDS STREAM PLAY. wORKS BETTER AND FASTER THAN ADVERTISED.hOOKED IT UP TO A CRADLE POINT ROUTER/ wE ALL HOOK UP 2 DESK TOPS AND A LAP TOP. SPEED NET 1.7 MB DOWNLOADS. nEVER KICKED ANYTHING OFF AND ITS ON ALL THE TIME….WHATS THE PROBLEM..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

FAKE November 29, 2011 at 10:45 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Hey looks its one of the employees trying to post a comment to make their POS not look like a huge POS!!!! love the grammar and typing skills lmfao!!! cAPS lOCKS lOL!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Jmikl August 29, 2010 at 7:13 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Cricket it THE WORST service in the world. I suggest anyone that has Cricket Broadband call and get a FULL REFUND from the first day you paid. I am in Salt Lake City and I should get at least 700k speeds. I get 25k to 80k. THAT IS TERRIBLE. Cricket Broadband sucks. I hate Cricket Broadband. I will never use Cricket again for anything. When I try to call the local store, or the local corporate store, they NEVER answer and when I go there and ask why they don’t answer thay say they are too busy to get the phones. I intend to go to the corporate office in SLC on Monday and demand a full refund.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Jerks September 6, 2010 at 6:36 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

CONSUMER WARNING!

Please DO NOT subscribe to the Cricket Broadband-it is a waste of YOUR money.

The download time is slower than dial up, your lucky if you ever reach a live customer service representative and when you do they speak VERY broken english and provide the WORST customer service I have ever experienced!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5GBS is ONLY good for checking e-mails and some minor web surfing and evry time you surf a different web page it will consume your GBS. PLEASE, PLEASE do not get this horrid service and as soon as I get my rebate from cricket (if I ever get it back), I will discontinue my service with Cricket and NEVER, NEVER go with them again! The service is slower than dial up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PS My real rating is a -20 stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Katie September 10, 2010 at 9:46 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I don’t even give it one star. It is hands down the worst internet provider in existence. IT IS ONE HUNDRED PERCENT NOT WORTH THE MONEY AT ALL, AND IT STILL WOULD NOT BE WORTH IT IF IT WERE FREE. They have horrible customer service and horrible phone services as well. This company is the biggest joke in the country. No videos. No music. You rarely get to stay on the internet for an hour, because it is constantly disconnecting. Like I said, no amount of money could make me recommend this or purchase it again. I really hope people take heed. It would actually be a larger waste of money to purchase Cricket internet, than to continue going without internet. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE trust me. Just go without until you can afford absolutely anything but Cricket. Ask anyone who owns it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Tracy September 11, 2010 at 10:23 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

It’s now 2.5 MB limit. When I ordered it, there was only 1 tier to pick and REALLY vague wording on throttling and what the limit was. 2 months in, their website offers 2 other tiers…still not much for more money and now states the MB limit. RIPOFF and SCAM.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Cara September 13, 2010 at 6:48 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Cricket Wireless Broadband is absolute garbage. Trash. I would not recommend Cricket Wireless Broadband to anyone, even if I did not like them. Slow. Unreliable. Limited. They advertise it as unlimited, but it is limited, how is this legal? I’ve cancelled my Cricket Wireless Broadband service because it’s such low quality, cancelled even after buying their stupid modem, which also is low quality and overpriced. And they love to add all kinds of random fees, so many that in the end, it costs the same or even more than a high-quality ISP.

Note to Cricket management/marketers if you happen to see this, you guys are not smart and innovative, you are sneaky and pathetic and you are really going to lose out on the broadband market b/c consumers are not going to stick with your low-quality product. You might have had an initial surge due to your misleading “Unlimited Broadband” campaign, but as soon as the consumer has your service for longer than a month they will want to leave you. Cricket Broadband sucks.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Jim Blackwell September 15, 2010 at 11:39 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Cricket service that did not work and was disconnected before 2 day free trial I was told my card would not be charged but it was charged anyway and now they refuse to give a refund

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

sha865 September 26, 2010 at 11:19 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

i think it sucks, was not what i thought it would be, the commercial they ran showed them watching videos, you can’t watch a video, a good price but like the saying “you get what you pay for” i use to have magic jack with my old service not with this crap does not work, cricket tooo slowww. =[

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

CJ October 10, 2010 at 4:00 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

When we first got Cricket broadband it was unlimited but at some point the game changed. Now after 5GB of usage it’s worse than dial up service! Amazing enough it starts to work around the time your bill is due and for the week or so after paying your bill. After that, it is the slowest service I have ever used. It’s worthless and I will be getting a new provider. Also, at 60 bucks a month you can get real unlimited internet. I’m very unhappy and after this month, we will be going to another provider. I hate to give comcast my business but I can’t rely on this service. I’m also not watching very much video and not downloading ANY music. And 5-7 days after paying the bill…poof it’s SO SLOW!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Ron October 14, 2010 at 5:41 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Slow, Slow, Slow. Live close to downtown Portland,OR and get weak signals everywhere I go. Yeah, it costs less but so does two cans and a string. Don’t waste your money!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

i hate cricket November 17, 2010 at 12:09 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

i would not give this a 1star, cricket broadband is terrible, awful, foul.. need i say more? it is so slow! if you like youtube well you will not like this, if you use facebook or the apps. on facebook DO NOT BUY THIS!! this is a big A$$ scam! done get me started on the customer service. UGH every 5mins it jusps to PAGE CAN NOT BE DISPLAYED! WTF!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Pi$$ed Off November 22, 2010 at 10:58 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

-10 STARS
Horrible Service, is where I will start! All of these BAD experiences, they need to just shut down the entire company. They have a policy: NO REFUNDS, thats kinda strange it self! They know good and well they have CRAPY service thats why once you pay for the month, there is horrible customer serive in and out of the store, no credit, or refund of any kind…..OUR lost, Their GAIN. Once I get my rebate back from this broadband “thingy” Im out of the grass with CRICKET!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Lauren November 24, 2010 at 5:27 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Dial up service would be quicker. As much as I dislike switching companies I am going to go to another internet provider. Cricket broadband is the worst internet provider in the world. If you think your Cricket products try the service that Cricket provides. If you call them and they answer, you will get someone who barely speaks English, and they will be of no help to you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Vin December 2, 2010 at 7:09 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I would definitely NOT suggest on getting Cricket, the coverage is horrible. The plans and phones are a good deal tough. I live in Utah and when you’re in the mountains, you don’t get coverage from Cricket at all, I’m able to get coverage from t-mobile just about anywhere. I’d say avoid Cricket at all cost.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Slade December 4, 2010 at 1:22 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I’ve been using Cricket broadband for about a year now. Cricket works great in the Phoenix area. There’s only a few places where the signal is bad, but I can still connect to the service. When the signal is strong, I haven’t experienced any disconnections like other reviews have mentioned. I’m using the UM185C modem.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Guest December 10, 2010 at 3:49 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I don’t know what the person from Glendale, AZ is talking about, because I am also located in that area, and my Internet is revoltingly slow. Bottom line, I spent most of my money on a new computer and didn’t have much left, so I opted for cheap Internet. Bad idea. Forget watching my shows. Youtube takes 20 minutes for a six-minute playback. I’m going to cancel this if it doesn’t get fixed quick. $40 is not worth this.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Kara December 17, 2010 at 11:14 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I wouldn’t recommend Cricket to anyone. We switched from Verizon to Cricket internet to save money but it is soo not worth it. The connection sucks and you waste so much time waiting for everything to load.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

OMG!!!! January 1, 2011 at 7:15 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

i’m currently borrowing a computer that uses a cricket broadband device for internet. i tried to watch a movie on netflix. it took 2 hours to determine play speed and buffer. 5 minutes into the movie playing, it had to reconfigure and rebuffer—another 2 hours. same concept applies to most other web endeavors when using cricket broadband. it sucks!!!! even while reading the other mostly negative comments on this page, i’ve had to reload it twice just to be able to still read the page, which goes blank and ‘can’t be displayed’ i suppose because of how horrid and unreliable cricket broadband is. verizon broadband is much quicker and reliable. even the dial-up service i used to use years ago was slightly quicker at best. and that’s what this cricket service reminds me of–dial-up at its worst, when it’s insanely slow and frustrating…the prehistoric version of internet service that’s come back to life again—dial-up masquerading as broadband–cricket broadband.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Jeremy January 3, 2011 at 7:39 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I’ve been using Cricket broadband for about two years now. Cricket works great in the Chicago Area, both my Cell and Air Card cost less the $60 per month. The first year I had problems using it in Florida and Michigan, However it works in those states now. I took it to Vegas and it’s worth every penny, The signal is strong enough to work in any motel, dont have to pay for internet when on vacation. Sure is better then the company that was a monopoly which the government broke up then emerged into one company and monopoly again by spending billions on lobbyist and saving millions (To benefit the top management) by offshoring AMERICAN jobs. You can figure it out.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Alan Heer January 5, 2011 at 4:31 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Much the same problems as everyone else. I pay $50 a month for the 5GB. Today my session log says I have spent 3.4 GBs. Speed is around .5 kbps. That’s right, .5. When the internet isn’t crawling, it’s inconsistent and constantly dropping. Example. A year ago, I had to download a 10 MB file, but Cricket kept dropping the download at the last second. Finally after more than ten tries, it succeeded. So I used more than 100 MB to download a 10 MB file. Another thing is Cricket is a big fat liar. They advertised 3G, but I don’t get 3G. One thing is that my modem doesn’t even have those capabilities. And second is that their 3G coverage is so small and confined to only the most populated cities. So what if you lived in said cities? You’d buy a more respectable internet service. What if you only need it for email? Buy Dial-up. Cricket has actually managed to create a service that can only thrive on screwing others. Most companies strive to improve their service to create renown and gain more money. Not Cricket. They see how many customers they can screw over and piss off as they can. I think it’s a game to them. What’s holding them up? It isn’t great service. You’d think they could at least put a little effort into their outsourcing. Teach the support how to speak english. But no, They don’t have good tech support. They don’t even know what the devices are, how they work. What to do in situations. They are just there to deter customers and for some reason it must work. I can tell you one thing that is wrong and I don’t even have experience. Cricket has put too much money into advertising and gaining customers, but hasn’t put enough money into maintaining their equipment and network for the onslaught of customers they have rung in. There isn’t enough service for everybody so they throttle you for a while and stop throttling you around billing time hoping you’ll forgive and forget.

And there is more. I get perfect reception so there is no excuse. Many times the internet will disconnect at the most inopportune moments. There are also times during the day where I’ll have no connection. I’ll be surfing and then suddenly disconnect. If I hit connect then the signal will drop to 0. After it tells me there was a problem, the signal boosts back to 100%. Repeat. then there are other times where I’ll be disconnected as soon as I connect. Last year when I would connect it would connect, disconnect, then connect again. This would result in an extra entry for that session that would last 2 seconds each. All of last year when I would connect, Cricket would say it was connected, but the indicator at the bottom that tells me of network activity, would not show connected until ten or so minutes later. The statistics show that when a certain amount of data had been sent and received, then it was technically connected and browsing could resume.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Shawn January 6, 2011 at 9:06 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Just terrible. I wish i could give them zero stars. I’m paid up for next month, yet they still haven’t reset my usage and I’m at a snails pace. :( What the heck am I paying them for? it’s false advertising. I’ve called two days in a row and each time they tell me it will be resolved in 24 hours. At least I think that’s what they said, they barely speak any English and dont seem interested in taking calls. On top of that I took it to dallas and got no coverage up there. The habib guy who sold it to me said Dallas was part of their coverage…it was a lie. I had Verizon before and the coverage and speed was great. Unfortunately you have t sign a contract and you get charged for going over a certain amount. Cricket is the only truley unlimited plan i know of…and it sucks.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

Bonnie January 18, 2011 at 3:03 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Terrible service. Broadband is entirely too slow.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

DISAPPOINTED January 29, 2011 at 1:03 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I really mean 0 stars! To sum my Cricket broadband experience up in a few words…IT’s A PIECE OF S HIT!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

chris February 5, 2011 at 3:44 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

since obtaining this device i can’t always watch videos on youtube and access to yahoo is virtually non-existent. It seems it is only good for crap like craigslist…nothing requiring too much flash or audio

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

Colt Daniels February 6, 2011 at 12:45 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Cricket Wireless Blocks Webpages: From access to hotmail & live.com to even blocking the update of your dvd queue on Netflix.com. These webpages are accessible if I use my free dial up connection offered by NetZero.com, but when i switch to Cricket Wireless, the pages return Error 500, server error. When i asked Microsoft about the server 500 error, they reported my ISP is blocking the page.
Plan and simple, Cricket Wireless blocks Webpages.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

Rudy February 16, 2011 at 11:57 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I purchased Cricket Crosswave at the beginning of the month. My previous internet service provider was Comcast.

In the two weeks that I have had this product, I have had nothing but frustration and agitation. The connection is SUPER SLOW, forget about downloading music or movies to your PC and don’t even bother watching videos on websites like youtube. It will take at least a half an hour to load a 5 minute video.

This is most certainly the worst product I have ever purchased and reminds me of the old school dialup with the phone line connected to the back of the PC. PURE GARBAGE!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

Red G February 27, 2011 at 5:29 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I GOT IT AND IT SUCKS

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

regina March 9, 2011 at 10:05 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

This service is sooooooo slow….Why!!! when i conect on the Bus The broadband is faster…isnt there some way u can speed it up…It takes HOURS to download anything…It jumps offline…..IT not fast..Please Fix This..I enjoy being online…your service needs more something…PLEASE FIX IT…Thanks!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

AL March 28, 2011 at 5:06 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Cricket internet is pathetic. It is so slow that my email must be on basic hotmail to work. A 15 second Youtube sent to me, takes almost a half hour to download. Using it for business would be insane. I haven’t used 5G of usage in 3 months. Yet my internet is still at snails pace. Where I live gets excellent reception. Yet cricket is so slow that many downloads drop before ever completing. Cricket is so frustrating that you will have to look into other avenues of internet usage. On average you would be better off driving to the library to get internet reception than having a Cricket account.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

bb vick April 12, 2011 at 7:54 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

From day one i tried this low quality service there has been nothing but problems. poor customer service.foriegn associates with bad english skills.constant misunderstandings.difficulty getting through for customer assistance.cricket freakin sucks i hate it cant watch utube,cant watch netflix even with ther most expensive service they need to go back to the drawing board.
bbv

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Disappointed Customer April 17, 2011 at 9:15 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON CRICKET BROADBAND. It is ridiculously slow and constantly drops you. Sometimes it takes multiple activations even to get it to work, and then of course it soon drops you. You cannot watch movies or videos. I think that I had faster and certainly more reliable service when I had dial-up. The customer service people are not very helpful. Because they are based in India some do not have a complete grasp of the English language. If you ask to speak to a supervisor, you will be told there is none. The answers are canned. There is no real customer service. I cannot say enough about how absolutely terrible Cricket broadband is.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Mark April 21, 2011 at 1:18 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Service is reliable but very slow. For some reason it stopped streaming netflix too(which it would barely stream anyway). Its nearly impossible to get a technician and they dont know anything.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Sean Moore April 22, 2011 at 4:36 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

My aunt has this. It works perfect for her light use. I used it for YouTube and while there was a little wait It was certainly not unreasonable. I could still enjoy watching YouTube here in Omaha, Ne. The only problems I had was when I tried to play a couple games from miniclip.com they were very laggy and took a while to load. They were not very fun to play like that. All in all I think this could be a great service for you if you don’t play games on it and don’t have a problem waiting 30secs for a video to load. This is definitely better than dial-up no questions asked! How much better just depends on where you live.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

MyExperience April 24, 2011 at 7:50 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I diifer from most of the above comments. In fact I was amazed. I signed up at the store and by the time I got home, my service was active and running. No CDs and no drivers required. Just plug in the usb device and it will automatically install the necessary drivers for you. The internet speed is FAST. I was AMAZED at the speed and ease. I never really got a chance to ask for support, so I dont know the support factor.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

Erica Padilla May 3, 2011 at 12:04 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Bought their WiFi modem at Best Buy last week. Tried to activate on a Thursday. Their customer service in Nicaragua (if you call in the morning) or their customer service in India (if you call in the afternoon or evenings) couldn’t tell me that they had an “application problem”. I had to give all kinds of numbers on the product box, all my personal information BEFORE being told that their system was kaput and they escalated me to a supervisor. This went on for 5 days. Each day, I tried morning and evening to activate without success.

I can’t rave enough about Best Buy, where I purchased the equipment. They made an exception in my case and refunded 100% of my purchase both for the Cricket equipment and for the top off card.

Do not, I repeat, do not, ever purchase any internet equipment related to Cricket.

I ended up purchasing equipment from Clear (Clearwire) and it was and is excellent. Easy, local customer service with a real human to speak with and plug and play internet access. If you need quick, reliable and easy pre-paid service, Clearwire worked for me.

I would rather be boiled in oil than to have to deal with Cricket internet. If you purchase a Cricket internet device, as in a Cricket WiFi, you’ll regret it. Don’t waste your money and the hassle it takes to get a refund. In fact, when you purchase the equipment on a prepaid account, you have to buy one of their top-off cards with it whether you like it or not and no retailer will refund your top-off card.

Cricket internet is a catastrophic failure and a devastating choice for any consumer. Don’t do it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Don't waste your money like I did. May 7, 2011 at 12:08 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

This internet is the WORST internet that I have ever had to put up with. I am a college student, and all of my classes are online. I get kicked offline repeatedly, I can’t hold a connection for longer than five minutes at a time sometimes, and the company refuses to improve their services. I have to try to login repeatedly, then get kicked off. And I’m not even going to start with their out-sourced customer service reps. Technology is complicated enough in English… Foreign accents just make it that much more complicated. Please don’t waste your money here. I can almost promise you that you will have the same experiences that I (and almost all the rest of the reviewers) have had. As soon as I get the chance, I am switching back to comcast.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Fred Parkins May 7, 2011 at 8:18 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

At Cricket, they do no deliver good customer support. Cricket does not provide good reception. Cricket advertises ‘Broadband’ internet which is paying for another phone device that receives, simply, a 56K dial-up solution at which other providers offer internet at 4x’s the same bandwidth with the same price. Cricket customer support representatives try to rip people off when there is a problem putting their networks problem on their shoulders.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Joe May 20, 2011 at 3:25 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Cricket broadband services is the worst service a person could ever have. The download and uploads speeds are too slow for any kind of internet surfing. Every call I made to customer services was useless. The reps sounded like they were told to read a script no matter what issue a customer had with his/her broadband. I’ve waited months for technical support to call back for assistance, till this day (2months) I still haven’t received a call back. Its cheap, but not worth the time and headache. Go some where else for broadband services.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Gyphon May 23, 2011 at 3:39 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I tried this and i canceled it in one month. Slow, slow, slow. Someone needs to file a class action lawsuit and get this company to fix there problems.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

VERY VERY Disappointed Customer !!!!! May 29, 2011 at 8:53 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

This is the most, absolutely worst Internet service. When I had dial-up, it was more reliable and much FASTER then, this bullshit-lying-ass CRICKET! They are THEVIES! Please don’t even think about trying to watch video’s and play games. You will go grey before it loads completely. When I pay my monthly bill it takes about a week to speed up. Then (maybe) I get a week where it’s awesome, I almost forget just how horrible it is…. then *sigh* once again it becomes, s-l-o-w—> as molasses. So barely 1 week out 3…. What a rip off! Oh and as for customer support…forget about it! WASTE of a whole bunch of Time and Money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

Heather June 3, 2011 at 3:58 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

The price would be great, if it worked, which it doesn’t. Since you are subject to their “fair use” policy, after a few hours of being connected, you wind up being lowered in priority. This lowering must include never having network connectivity on a Friday, because I have YET to have that since the “fair use” came into play. God help you if you have a problem too – their customer service is definitely a lack of customer service. They shouldn’t have an option to email from their site, they never answer them. I don’t care if people think I’m racist or anything else, but when I call from the USA, I expect to get someone who speaks English as a primary language, as I do not like to repeat myself. Thankfully moving to an area that has MetroPCS, will be flipping everything to them ASAP.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

AL June 17, 2011 at 6:00 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I have had Cricket for a few years now. The service is pathetic. I couldn’t understand why I had so many problems with my internet usage. I finally downloaded a speed test that was not related to Cricket and saw what the ridiculously slow speed their service really provides. Currently I have 2.6 GB left on my 5GB service before they slow it down to where it is hard to even use basic email. I just had a reading of 1.6 KB on my speed and my internet site had froze. Finally after shutting off my computer and rebooting. I was able to get it up to 216 kb. That is from .016 to .216 GB when they advertise a speed of 1.5GB. Their service is so pathetic that you will constantly have to jump through hoops to get a minimal functioning internet service. I am so sick of shutting off my computer and rebooting to get a barely useful increase in internet usage. If they advertised their real service that they provide. I doubt they would have any customers. I just finally did another speed check and it got to 302 KB. 20% of what they advertise as a maximum speed. Missing your advertised speed by 80% is an amazing leap into the BS Zone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Reed June 18, 2011 at 12:41 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

BAD BAD DAD , stay away, Disconnect all the time . and hard to get back

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

B-man from B-more July 12, 2011 at 2:03 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

This is the worst broadbrand in the world. This product doesn’t even need to be on the market. Cricket needs to reinburse each and every customer that has wasted their money buying this piece of garbage. It takes 7 hours to watch a 30 sec video. We tried to watch a 2 hour netflix movie and it cut off 50 times.

Listen to me men and women don’t waste your money buying this unreliable service.

My mom has been trying to check her email for 5 days and has not succeded once.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

Erika July 20, 2011 at 3:14 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I never thought to look up reviews for Cricket Wireless (Broadband) until I got such grief from customer service; I called and complained that they withdrew a payment from me twice from my checking account in the SAME DAY! When I called, they claimed they couldn’t “find it in the system” that one of their representatives charged me twice; although I had got both confirmations from the Cricket account, and confirmations from my bank.
I had to call them 3 times each day after I noticed the error. One customer service lady tried to convince me to let them put the extra payment towards the next month. WHY WOULD I DO THAT IF I DIDN’T AUTHORIZE THEM TO TAKE EXTRA MONEY FROM ME IN THE 1ST PLACE?? I told her if she didn’t refund my money, I’d call the BBB on them and report fraud. So then the lady tells me she’d refund my money, in a form of a check, but then was $.20 short on the refund. So, I had to (calmly as possible) tell her the correct amount to refund.
This isn’t the 1st time this company has stolen money from me. Once I went out of town and didn’t pay my broadband bill for 2 weeks. When I came back in town, I tried to pay and have services turned back on. Well, turns out, (as they say) I paid on the wrong account, and that in order to turn on services, they’d have to issue me a new account number and I’d have to make another payment. I was so hard up to use the internet, I really didn’t feel like I had any other choice but to pay it.
Now that I’m going through this dispute with them to refund my money, I went to turn on my computer today, and saw that they shut my services off, yet again… and its not even time for them to. I just logged on my work pc and looked up my Cricket account and saw that now they’re trying to charge me $81.00 to turn services on!
Well, Sprint, here I come!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

BigBill July 20, 2011 at 2:14 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I first purchased the A-600 and the $40/month service based on the LIE that I would get ‘unlimited’ data usage! After experiencing several months of my service being cut after reaching the data use limit, like a fool, I upgraded to the $60/month service and was again promised ‘unlimited’ data usage. My speed has been cut this month on the 17th to almost dial-up speeds. I spent 45 minutes on the phone with ‘customer no service’ only to be told my service was indeed limited. I have just placed an order for AT&T DSL!! Their first year of service is only $19.95/mo and after goes to approx. $45/mo. and has a 150 GB limit on data usage. I will be filing a complaint with the FTC about Cricket and their ‘bait and switch’ services.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Xiomara July 22, 2011 at 1:27 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

This is by far the WORST service provider in the history of EVERS! They suckkkk! They promise you up & down how great they are and they are horrible! I only had their services for about 4 days and those 4 days I was on the phone with a million different people trynna tell me how I was doing things wrong. When really they just suck and their connection is terrible! Even while I was canceling the services it took them to transfer me to a million different people before they finally cancelled. And the worst part about it is that they apparently don’t do any refunds so the $125.00 they charged me for the device and installing is theirs now. Fucking jackasses! If i was you id rather pay anybody else for internet or better yet not even get internet because when your with cricket its like you have no connection anyways!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

BigSky July 24, 2011 at 5:38 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I had read so many bad reviews about Cricket that I hesitated for a while to sign on with it. I finally decided to give it a try, and I am very glad that I did. The service has been very good. In 30 days, I only have had interruption in data service for two hours due to network maintenance.

I picked the Blackberry service. The Cricket persons at the office I went to sign up were beyong helpul explaining all the details, the fine print, and even showing me how to get the most use out of my bb. Extremely friendly and very happy to help. I also have called customer service. Wherever it is at, it does not matter. Cricket’s customer service has been very good as well and helped me troubleshoot and resolve my original issue in one day. I have not experienced even one of the terrible stories that I have read on several websites.

I live in a major city. I love the fact that I have unlimited everything, everything! Calls, texting, data, Internet surfing. All for under $60 a month. If I ever use (or abuse) Internet service (downloading) excessively, the data rate will slow up, but I never will be charged extra for anything. Slowing down downloads and Internet service is a reality that soon all wireless carriers will have to face as the most practical solution to address the ever-increasing demand for broadband communication from everybody.

I read stories about getting stuck with high roaming charges also. As I see it so far, my phone will not get charged roaming fees if I do not have funds deposited in my Cricket account for that. Phone is set up to not work if roaming.

I don’t work for Cricket, I have no stake in it. I merely am sharing my experience with it. I could not be happier. Great service and support! Highly recommended. And dollar for dollar, it beats the competition, every one of the other carriers, hands down for service, features, and price!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 8 found this review helpful.

Reply

RL Davis August 5, 2011 at 4:04 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

This company should be charged with impersonating a service provider.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

Ryno August 7, 2011 at 11:08 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Just bought it four days ago and could not be more upset with life right now. I cherish my laptop but this sloww false advertised peice of blue blinking junk has actually made me want to slam my laptop sideways on a marble counter top…DO NOT BUY! Invest in REAL internet!!!!!!!! I bet it will take 10 minutes just to fully submit this review….JUNK FOOD

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

cj August 29, 2011 at 2:52 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

This is the worst service ever and I wish I never got this phone, trying to find another servise with out a contract. My phone keep dropping calls.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Joshua unhappyconsumer August 30, 2011 at 6:19 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

This is the worst low rented piece of shit internet device I have ever purchased. I have had more than 1 model of this fake 3G card and there all nothing but shame. I cant use net with full bars, I have to struggle with emails, games lag soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo BAD, videos are practicly impossible, all my fiends and people I don’t even know agree with me that we all change plans because of this. I hohnestly wont even use a Cricket phone if it was free for the simple fact that theres other people listening to my conversation when I’m talking to a friend….. Your bugged, miss communicating, lagging, slow, underrated, overheated cards are not worth my time any more. I no longer feel a problem with paying 200 for clearwire and there reliable service over yours. I hate your company, its not the area I’m in that makes it not work ( cuz then you shouldn’t sell em here or anywhere for that fact) Its your company’s fucked up towers and week service output. You say its the device, then why you fuck around with selling it if running system check on them, or even restarting my account don’t work. fuck you and your bs. I gladly resign my Cricket account and forever will rag on your shit for the years of garbage you have sold me and stole my money for. I will make sure my family friends and people I don’t but soon will know to also discontinue. I hope someday you wont scam honest consumers, fix your garbage assholes!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

charlie September 2, 2011 at 10:28 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

it seemed to work fine for a while, but 2 months ago the evening speed dropped down to zilch..morning is ok…seems they oversold their bandwidth…they need a complete reorganization top to bottom or the company will not last

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

kim kovacs September 5, 2011 at 2:31 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Im in the Chicago area and i can watch videos without much of a lag. Also sent my payment in a little late and the customer service guy in India hooked my service up without receiving payment. The only real problem Im having is it will keep disconnecting which is a pain but all in all for 41.00 dollars a month compared to the high price of comcast im satisfied.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

Dave In OKC September 7, 2011 at 1:03 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

What a fucking joke Cricket is. They not only lied to me about the speed I would get but when you talk to technical support you get some idiot that cant even speak english. HOW IN THE WORLD THIS COMPANY IS ALLOWED TO OPERATE IN THE USA IS BEYOND ME. THEY ARE THE WORST I HAVE EVER DONE BUSINESS WITH. NEVER NEVER NEVER AGAIN AND I WILL TELL EVERYONE I SEE NOT TO USE THIS COMPANY BECAUSE THEY ARE A JOKE AND A DISGRACE. CAN I GIVE A MINUS 5 STARS? -5 *****

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Dave In OKC September 7, 2011 at 1:07 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

AND BY THE WAY I AM TALKING TO AN ATTORNEY ABOUT A CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT AGAINST THIS COMPANY. I WILL KEEP EVERYONE POSTED ON HOW IT GOES.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

6 / 6 found this review helpful.

Reply

jerry September 12, 2011 at 7:29 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

my girlfriend got this ‘Cricket’ internet. It logs me off every 6 minutes. We called tech support, and they told us that the bars don’t matter. We get 4 bars of reception and it don’t matter. What??? What are the bars for then? All of a sudden, the blue bars on the device don’t matter? Tech Support is now called the ‘Lunch Room’. I called Charter Internet and they are coming very soon. It’s funny, I just tried to submit this message and i got kicked off AGAIN!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

6 / 6 found this review helpful.

Reply

James September 25, 2011 at 5:39 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

What is the point to this piece of shit “internet” card? It disconnects like clockwork…it took this bitch 27.5 hours to update a game I have, claimed it would happen in 30 minutes. Imagine the frustration of an internet that decided to shut itself off a record-breaking (for me anyway) 57 times in two hours. Sure, it works if you only surf one page every few days, but the chances of you actually loading the page are slim to none. I’m using my phone’s browser right now because it works properly, and about 5 times faster. The price is robbery at this point. 8 bytes per second? Are you fucking joking? Customer support has told me that I’ve done something to cause this – such as a virus, but I just can’t see that happening because an internet connection is necessary to download any malicious anything! I loath this so-called plan and plead that nobody subject themselves to this.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

MJ September 29, 2011 at 1:02 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I generally don’t have speed issue, and I haven’t canceled the $40 per month broadband plan because it is the cheapest and has no contract. HOWEVER, at least 75 percent of the time I have to click connect multiple times before I can connect. Sometimes I spend 10 plus minutes clicking connect repeatedly until I get a connection which is unbelievable frustrating. Other times (not very often) I can connect no problem. The one time I called customers service was a waste of time, and very aggravating, they couldn’t tell me when to call in to cancel without being charged for the next month or losing part of the month I already paid for. I JUST WANT TO CONNECT WITHOUT CLICKING CONNECT 50 TIMES!! IT IS VERY FRUSTRATING ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU JUST NEED TO QUICKLY LOOK UP SOMETHING!

Dear Cricket,

You have potential, now it is time to live up to it. We pay you enough, provide proper service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Sick of Cricket October 6, 2011 at 2:57 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Like almost everyone else has said already, CRICKET SUCKS!

1) It’s slower than dial-up service.
2) It disconnects several times a day.
3) There is nothing “unlimited” about it.
4) They will claim that your service is slow because you’ve reached your data limit (“fair usage policy” blah blah blah) yet even when your usage limit starts back at zero when you start a new billing cycle, the speed isn’t any different. IT IS CONSTANTLY SLOW NO MATTER WHERE YOU ARE AND HOW MUCH YOU’VE USED IT.
5) Once the so-called service disconnects, getting it to work again takes 30 minutes of rebooting the modem, clearing your browser cache, rebooting your computer…
6) Customer service is non-existent. There is no way to contact them via email. Calling their toll-free number is a joke because nobody ever has any answers and they barely speak English. I’ve even left them comments on Twitter and Facebook and they just ignore them or they’ll ask me a question about my complaint then I never hear another word from them.
7) Their billing practices are shady. I got a Cricket phone first and when the store employee set up my account, she used the address from my ID even though I told her it wasn’t my current address. She said “No problem, just go on the website later and update it.” I tried that 5 times and every time I logged back on to the website after waiting 24-48 hours for the changes to take effect, it STILL had my old address. Two weeks after I got my phone, I got the Cricket broadband service. For some reason, the employee couldn’t just add it to my phone account so she just created a brand new account. So I ended up with two different accounts.

(By the way, I have NEVER received any kind of notification of when my bill is due for the Internet service because they send a text message to the phone number assigned to the modem. It’s one thing to send billing notices by text to a PHONE number but who in the hell logs into their modem to check texts sent to it? I had this thing for a few months before I even knew it could get texts.)

Anyway, after about 9 months of constant problems, I completely gave up on Cricket and let both of my accounts go. A few months later, I needed a cell phone again and made the mistake of thinking I’d give Cricket another chance. My mom decided she was going to do me a favor and turn my phone back on. Since she had my account info, she went online to pay the bill. Well she accidentally logged into the Internet account instead of the phone account. I had no use for the Internet and the modem was packed away in storage, so I called Cricket just a few hours after the bill was paid and asked if they could transfer the payment to the phone account. The first person I spoke to was a total idiot and had no idea what I meant. I hung up and called back, hoping to get someone with at least half a brain. THAT person told me that, if the two accounts had the same address on them, he could have transferred the payment but since the addresses didn’t match, he couldn’t do it. IT WAS CRICKET’S FREAKIN’ FAULT THAT THE PHONE ACCOUNT HAD THE WRONG ADDRESS ON IT! The employee refused to listen to me when I asked her to put my current address on the account and the website failed to register every single attempt I made at changing the address.

Needless to say, I am beyond sick of Cricket, I hope they get sued, I hope they go bankrupt, and I would love to take this stupid modem and shove it up their CEO’s rear end. I have already switched to another cell phone service and I am getting DSL Internet next week.

F**k you Cricket. The only reason I’m even giving them 0.5 stars is because it won’t allow me to give anything lower.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

8 / 8 found this review helpful.

Reply

ennerys October 7, 2011 at 1:16 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

The worst speed ever! Dont buy cricket modem and plan. Over priced and terrible speed. i just smashed mine against the floor. its not worth it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

unknown November 5, 2011 at 2:49 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Even with the newest android out it sucks. Handsown worste. goin with tmobile. Unlimited my ass. If it seems to good to be true it is.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Zack November 16, 2011 at 1:46 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Congrats cricket…Three solid years of complaints in this forum, and it still doesnt do justice to how sh*tty the service is. It takes days to download a simple zip file. I cant even describe how dissapointing this service is. I rember having dial up in 95′ that loaded web pages faster. I would rather not have internet than wait for hours to find out that what i had waited on hadnt even loaded. I truly believe somebody should suffer for this…phone service rocks though never lost a call.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

Ron Randall December 13, 2011 at 6:33 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Seriously, Cricket should be investigated for false advertising, This piece of shit is slow as hell, I do alot of IM so video marketing is a huge part of my business, Well now I have to go to a relatives house to view videos, There is NO WAY this is a broadband. I wont even begin to discuss customer service and how I was treated. (Not to mention thats when I FINALLY got someone on the phone that spoke close to good enough English) I really hope Cricket is paying attention and does NOT think we are the minority of customers. Either step it up, or face bankruptcy soon Cricket!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

Muntu December 21, 2011 at 2:15 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

The worse service. Will steal your money. It is a scam. I just wasted 170$ and many hours on the phone with the worse customer service. Stay far away from them.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

cricket sucks December 25, 2011 at 6:55 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Don’t waste you’re money in their broadband….its garbage. Takes FOREVER to load one webpage!…can’t even stream movies!

The price isn’t worth the crapy speed!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

richard December 26, 2011 at 11:29 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

It took awhile but getting great speed here in Louisville Kentucky! Using a ten year old PC with winXP and utilizing Ccleaner and Advanced System care 5 pro, We can watch any video including You Tube and VIVO high definition usually without buffering. Like I said we had to clean out our PC and delete old programs that we did not use to do this with only 3 bars of reception strength. Not bad for only $30 a month. I am seeing Up to 3 meg download speeds through Speedtest.net. Folks crank up your speed in the modem and set your PC’s to focus it’s processes on what you are doing instead of running a ton of background applications and see what happens!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

TIanna January 23, 2012 at 6:15 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN!!!! THE WORST SERVICE IN INTERNET HISTROY!!!! THERE IS NOTHING POSITIVE ABOUT THIS SERVICE, I DO NOT SEE HOW IT IS EVEN LEGAL! I FAILED AN IMPORTANT PAPER BECAUSE THE SERVICE WENT INTO “DORMANT” MODE WHEN I WAS TRYING TO SUBMIT MY WORK. CUSTOMER SERVICE REALLY SUCKS, TECHNICAL SUPPORT SUCKS, THE MODEM SUCKS, THE SERVICE SUCKS, OVERALL HORRIBLE. I KEEP HAVING TO RESET MY MODEM… 45 BUCKS PLUS TAX DOWN THE DRAIN. CRICKET NEEDS TO BE OUT OF BUSINESS LIKE SO SERIOUS! I WANTED TO GIVE IT A ZERO!!! I PROMISE DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY YOU BETTER OFF STEALING WIFI FROM MCDONALDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

jampa February 4, 2012 at 4:14 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Yes the cricket broadband a little cheaper then the other wireless, but cheaper does not make any since if your internet so slow, cant download anything becoz of slowest internet service i have ever seen.the worst thing was i could not stream videos it kept crashing every second,and also i wasent able to download songs. i HAVE BEEN THEIR COUSTMER 4 SEVERAL MONTHS. AND I HAD BEEN 62 $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ EVERY MONTHS. THEN THEIR SUPPORT SERVICE SUCKSSSSSSS. SO IF THE SERVICE LIKE THIS, I WOULD RATHER PAY A FEW MORE DOLLERSSSSS OVER THE 62DOLLARSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS THAT I PAY EVERY MONTH. AND GET ANOTHER WIRELESS BROADBAND WHICH WILL BE TEN TIMES FASTER. SO I WOULD LIKE TO TELL EVERYONE NOT 2 GET THE CRICKET SERVICE,, U WILL BE ROBED .IT DONT DESERVE EVEN A SINGLE STAR IF I COULD HAVE GIVEN – – - -5 STARS

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

ngerlkjnlkejr February 13, 2012 at 7:48 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I wish i would have read this before i wasted my time and money on this lame service. It looks like to me maybe 3 out of 500 people are happy with the service and I am not one of them. Are there not laws to protect consumers from fraud ? This is whats known as a racket ,scam,rip-off, etc,etc,etc,etc,etc,etc,etc,etc,etc,etc,etc,etc,etc,etc,etc,etc,etc,etc,etc,etc,etc,etc,etc,etc. And its time for some payback. And i am not talking just complaining or idle threats, i am talking about what comes around, goes around!!!!!!!!!! Start from the top and work down from there. That is the only way to stop it cold. Its time, the time is now. Unleash the hounds. Pay backs are a M other F ucker. KABOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Randi Johnston February 15, 2012 at 12:07 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

****CONSUMER BEWARE**** DO NOT GET ANYTHING THAT CRICKET HAS TO OFFER! NOTHING! JUST LOOK AT THE REVIEWS WRITTEN HERE OVER 100 REVIEWS AND ALL BUT LESS THAN 10 HAVE VERY NEGATIVE THINGS TO SAY, EVERYONE CANT BE LYING THIS COMPANY HAS THE SKILL OF “dECIET,MANIPULATIVE,CON S AND RIP OFF THE PUBLIC DOWN TO AN ART. YOU CAN EXPECT TO BE TAKEN THE MOMENT U SIGN UP FOR THIS SO CAllED NO CONTRACTS SERVICE,YEA RIGHT SEE WHAT HAPPENS IF YOU DONT PAY FOR ANOTHER MONTHS SERVICE. THAN YOUR SERVICE IS TOTALLY MISREPRESENTED BY THEM YOU GET DROPPED CONTINUALLY ON PHONES YOUR INTERNET IS SLOWER THAN DIAL UP AND FREEZES UP QUICKER THAN A WITCH’S TIT IN A BRASS BRA,THAT IS NO JOKE. MY SPEAKEASY SPEED TEST FOR DOWNLOADS IS NEVER ABOVE O.O4.THIS IS THE ONLY COMPANY THAT IVE EVER SEEN CHARGE YOU FOR PAYING YOUR BILL EVEN WHEN YOU PAY IT AT THEIR STORE A CRICKET STORE AND YOU PAY WITH CASH. THAT HAS TO BE ILLEGAL?GOOD LUCK CALLING CUSTOMER SERVICE THEY ARE A BUNCH OF TRAINED ROBOTS WITH ACCENTS SO THICK YOUR SCREWED THE MOMENT THEY ANSWER.tHEN THERE WAS THE CHARGE FOR INSURANCE ON MY PHONE THAT BROKE THAT THEY SAID WASNT THE FAULT IN MANUFACTURING ONLY TO FIND OUT IT HAD BEEN RECALLED DUE TO ITS DEFECTS! OH AND THE REBATES THATS A BUNCH OF CRAP TOO YOU DO NOT GET CASH FROM THEM IN THE FORM OF REBATES, TO THEM THEY ISSUE YOU GIFTCARDS FOR REBATES. THE LIST GOES ON N ON. I ONLY REVEL IN THE HOPES THAT SOMEDAY AND IT WILL COME BUT SOMEDAY THERE WILL BE A COMPANY THAT WILL PUT THEM BACK INTO BANKRUPTCY AS THEY ONCE WERE AND IT WILL HAPPEN IT WILL. TIL THEN I WAIT. AFTER ALL THIS INFO FROM THOSE OF US WHO HAVE FELT THE WRATH OF THIS COMPANY ALL OF US WHO CANT POSSIBLY BE LYING IF YOU STILL GET THEIR SERVICE THAN YOUR THE PERFECT CUSTOMER FOR THEM AND YOU DESERVE EACHOTHER. CONSIDER YOURSELF WARNED.THIS COMPANY HAS USED THE CONSUMER TO PULL THEM OUT OF BANKRUPTCY BY RIPPING US OFF AND CONTINUE TO DO SO. THERE WAS A REASON IT WENT BANKRUPT IN THE FIRST PLACE.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Some Advice February 17, 2012 at 2:43 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

OK so if you want a better device by cricket look into the crosswave. The crosswave acts as a router/hotspot creator and is a lot faster. And at least the tech support actually helped me with it. It gives you about 54 mbps average speed.the price is somewhat worth it so try it out.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

Richard E Gandee February 17, 2012 at 10:57 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I live in the nations capital Washington, D.C. I reside close enough to the white house I could walk there in less than 15 minutes. The Cricket broadband service even here is the worst. One would think otherwise. I suggest all dissatisfied customers band together and bring a class action law suit against this company and it’s shareholders. Any attorneys willing to take this on with no up front fee, please contact me. The likely end result of a successful outcome would be an enormous payday for the attorney, and some minor compensation for the victims of this scandalous corporation. I guess something is better than nothing. Perhaps such an intervention may encourage other internet service providers to act in a more forthright and ethical manner in both their advertising and business practices. In the meantime I suggest that all current customers refrain from topping up. In addition it would be helpful if we could all spread the word to potential customers that this service is an outright scam.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

Hector February 21, 2012 at 5:59 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Guess, what, I got ripped off by this provider, got dam it this cricket company are a real pain in the rear.. I just payed , for the second time , dam broadband lost all it speed less than 12 hours, really, i just payed $55.00.. this is crap, i swear,
We are customers at least they should treat us with respect. and not scam us.
whoo first 2012 compliant, no really folks this is crap! and SCAM!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

Bethany February 22, 2012 at 3:49 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

This is the worst piece of shit product I ever used. The speed is terrible and takes forever to download anything. You are basically paying for dialup. When I tried to cancel I got the run around I was on the phone forever trying to cancel it. I will not recommended this to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Maria Jones March 7, 2012 at 8:37 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I have been trying to contact cricket broadband for months can not find a phone # also my bank found one gave it to me now I cant talk to anyone also I tried to put a temporary hold on my acct but the one lady I talked to could not find me at all in the system what kind of business are they running if you can not get a hold of a live person I called the one # I have could not talk with anyone but that stupid recording man which hung up on me I REALLY NEED TO TALK TO A PERSON HELP!!!!!!HELP!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

turnip March 12, 2012 at 3:27 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

1st week was almost decent then Kaboom! Slow slow slow slow slow slow slow slow slow! When trying to contact anyone at the corporate store where it was purchased, no attempts were fruitfull and messages that were left got no reply. On third call I was directly transferred to Signal, who apparently is a claims division, I guess a hint of what to expect if one has problems with service might be to understand filing a claim is the first recourse rather than providing any kind of customer service the company store just forwards your call directly to claims! Btw, claims is unable to help you with service problems(eyeroll).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

turnip March 12, 2012 at 4:55 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Additionally, just to give some perspective I between posting of comments,
Took two speed tests,
1st- .04 mb/s download .24mb/s upload
2nd- .02 mb/s download .46mb/s upload
F-
Purchased the crosswave on the 1st of the month. What a waste of time and money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Leave a Comment

Click stars below to rate.
Price
Speed
Support