Wireless Internet Reviews

Clearwire Mobile Broadband Wireless Service

Overview

Clearwire

Editor's Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Founded in October of 2003, Clearwire is a high speed wireless internet company based in Kirkland, Washington. The company currently offers service in 50 markets across the United States and Europe with a current subscriber base of about 350,000.

In January of 2008, Clearwire announced a partnership with search giant Google that would incorporate Google’s applications, including gMail, Google Calendar and Google Talk into Clearwire’s wireless Web platform. Additionally, Sprint owns 51% of the Clearwire company.

Pros: The Clearwire service maximum download speeds are much higher than your typical mobile broadband provider, the pricing for the actual plan is competitive and you can get the activation fee waived by signing onto a contract.

Cons: The Clearwire network is new, so the coverage area is extremely limited. Additionally, we weren’t huge fans of the hefty activation fee without a contract or the extremely high cost and limited choice in PC Cards (there is only one).


Detailed Provider Information

Plans: Clearwire high speed internet service offers one plans that features wireless high speed internet access that is not restricted to your home and mimics the service capabilities of larger mobile broadband providers. The plan is called PC Card Premium and costs $59.99 per month. This plan offers you unlimited wireless high speed internet on their Clearwire network up to 1.5 megabytes per second download and 256 kilobytes per second upload.

Customer Service: Customer service for Clearwire wireless high speed internet is available twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week via online chat at their website. Additionally, customer service is available via a toll free number from 9 a.m. to 10 p.m. PST.

Credit Check: No

Contract: Service is available without a contract, however, the pricing changes and is less expensive the longer you are willing to commit.

Payment Options: Payments can be made online or by telephone by credit card, debit card or electronic funds transfer. Payments can also be pre-authorized to go through automatically via any of those options.

Bandwidth Restrictions: The data transfer speed of the Clearwire connection has a maximum speed of 1.5mbps download and 256kbps upload.

Activation Fee: There is an activation fee of $50.00 ($100 with no contract). The activation is waived, however, when you’re willing to sign up for a two year contract.

Cancellation Fee: The maximum fee for canceling your Clearwire high speed wireless service contract is $220.00. Please note, the cost will go down the further into the two year contract that you cancel your service. Clearwire will credit the $220.00 cancellation fee by $5.00 for each full month of service you’ve received and paid for during the contract period.  If you are no longer able to use the service at the address that you originally signed up from you can talk to the customer service and ask about having the cancellation fees waived.

Roaming Charges: The Clearwire high speed wireless internet service will only work on the Clearwire network. There is no way to roam, so therefore there are no roaming charges.

Modems and PC Cards: Clearwire offers two options for PC cards (also known as air card) both of which Clearwire gives you the option to lease for $6.99 per month or buy for a one-time charge of $229.98. If you have your own PC Card that matches the type they support, then you can pay a one time $5.00 fee to use it instead of getting one directly from Clearwire.

Some of the Available Modems and PC Cards are listed below:
Clearwire Motorola PC Card (shown)
Clearwire PC Express Card

Coverage Map: Clearwire PC Card Coverage Map

Average Ratings (from 29 ratings)
Price
Speed
Support
Average Rating

{ 29 comments… read them below or add one }

Tony M October 7, 2008 at 9:42 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Avoid at all costs. Terrible customer service. Really slow speeds compared to wired DSL. Bandwidth caps on all downloads not just Torrents and P2P stuff. Worst decision I made and now I have to pay to cancel the service. CRAP!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 6 found this review helpful.

Reply

Michael in Seattle February 17, 2010 at 1:06 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I’d give it ZERO stars if I could. AVOID AT ALL COSTS! There service is ridiculously LAME. I live in Ballard in North Seattle supposedly 6 blocks from a cell tower and I could not get a signal. They pressured me to go somewhere where I could find a signal so I could connent and agree to their terms of service, saying that then magically a signal would appear at my house. What TOTAL FUCKING BULLSHIT! I’ll stick with Sprint. Reliable and effective, even at 3G.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 6 found this review helpful.

Reply

AJ in Chicago April 10, 2010 at 8:55 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Terrible customer service, liars, no service signal inside bulding had me stand outside in cold for an hour trying to get a signal. STAY AWAY

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

ellen in Atlanta April 19, 2010 at 1:49 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

don’t be fooled by the great marketing. finding a signal, even close to towers is a challange, and their customer service is the worst of any tech company i ever encountered, or not encourtered, as the case may be, since getting anyone to help is a joke. the choice is quite clear to me – do not use clearwire.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

Kathy April 25, 2010 at 11:12 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

This was the worst service I ever had. I lost my phone connections multiple times mid conversation. The internet service went out all the time. I also could not use my phone and wireless at the same time. The phone caused my internet service to stop. When I cancelled and request a refund for the service since it was not reliable, they informed me that they do not provide refunds. I would recommend everyone stay away from this unreliable company.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

Torg May 13, 2010 at 2:41 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

The term highspeed is a misnomer. I am lucky if I get .75 megabytes. my avg on speedtest.net is .65 mb. Avoid Clearwire. And customer service is set up to discourage you from seeking customer service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 6 found this review helpful.

Reply

Lisa in Kansas City July 13, 2010 at 4:21 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Purchased on the go service from online rep. The modem was shipped to an incorrect address. When I called Clear to politely inquire as to why I hadn’t received the wireless modem, the customer service rep was rude. High expectations ended in disappointment.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

mimi November 11, 2010 at 2:36 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I have used clear wire for my home internet and the service was terrible, always disconnected and have to call them (if they are open) to reset it. it was terrible experience and when we wanted to cancel it they charged early termination for the service that they never gave us!!!! do not trust these people! their service is headache!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

Lori January 30, 2011 at 2:11 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Tried it, too slow, and couldn’t cancel! Tried 3 times during trial period and they wouldn’t cancel, now I’m out almost $100 in monthly and termination fees! Stay away from their TRIAL offer – bad business practices.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

John February 5, 2011 at 8:19 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Very poor in speed now, even in 4G. It got slow down after 5pm.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

6 / 6 found this review helpful.

Reply

Nathalie March 29, 2011 at 5:08 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Horrible! it was great until 30 days later..wouldn’t connect even though I had an excellent signal! Tech support was horrible..they told me I had to exchange my laptop! I had just bought it a month ago! So after a week of no service and calling every day, I’m fed up! Needless to say I’m going elsewhere! How convenient it stops working after the trial period and after they bill you..hmmm

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

Debra Light June 10, 2011 at 9:15 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

New customers be warned. Takes forever to get someone on the phone…eating up cell phone minutes and time you could spend doing anything else. I contacted the on-line help but they refer me to internet pay system that does not recognize my password (when I just verified it with customer service). This becomes a frustrating cycle and nothing gets resolved. I tried submitting my request for a call back but the computer does not want to recognize existing customers, just new ones. So don’t get caught in the trap. My service goes out and my roommates get mad at me when the account is 10 days over do. But what can I do if I am unable to contact service?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

Jon June 17, 2011 at 3:27 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Absolute crap. Tired of playing Bandwidth games, customer service is abysmal, can coast at 7 mb’s in the morning, yet can barely break .2 mbps in the evening. going either with comcast or qwest. Clearwiere can go down the drain

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Terri July 5, 2011 at 11:44 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Clearwire service is awful. I had a problem with Clearwire”s modem. Called the service department. The service rep stated I had an outdated modem and they would ship a part. This would take a week. I cancelled my service and continued being billed. I told my credit card company not to pay their bills and it has taken one month to finally cancel service. While I was with Clearwire I constantly had to move the modem to get reception and when I did get reception it was slow. I know that now because I have switched companies. Stay Clear of Clearwire!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

kim johnson July 29, 2011 at 3:39 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Great service in dallas. super fast, much better and cheaper than dsl. customer service is very nice and efficient…one person can answer EVERY question you have…LOVE IT !

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

CC January 31, 2012 at 11:16 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Surely you must work for CLEAR … lol

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Kay August 6, 2011 at 1:24 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I signed up for Clearwire about two weeks ago. I got a great deal from a very helpful person. My wireless broadband device arrived the next day, too. Then when I when on-line to activate my service found out I HAD to consent to receive telemarketing calls from Clearwire and its “business partners”, waiving my rights under the State do-not-call registry and agreeing to be responsible all charges incurred on my cell phone, in order in order to activate service. I cancelled my service with Clearwire immediately, and all though the people I spoke to were helpful, had to call more than once to get my UPS return label. I don’t know if the service would have been good but I do know how telemarketing calls {and extra cell phone charges} can turn one’s life into a living h*ll.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

gail August 19, 2011 at 1:21 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Clearwire is Horrible. I have aps that i need to run 24/7 and my internet cuts out sometimes 4 times a day or more. Customer support is in another country somewhere and are not helpful at all. They started taking payments automatically from my bank account Without my permission. Steer Clear People.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

TomT September 8, 2011 at 4:36 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

HOLY COW. Worst experience I have ever had with a company this big.

My first couple months with Clear Home Internet were great. I was getting anywhere between 8 and 14 mbps down and 1 mbps up. About three weeks ago, I started getting intermittent connectivity issues–web pages would not load, they timed out and I had to refresh several times to get them to load successfully. I gave Clear the benefit of the doubt and spent 6 phone calls and over 2 hours on the phone with them. This is where the true nightmare began. First of all, it is almost impossible to understand ANY of the customer service or account reps. It is as though they took all the customer service rejects from other companies, put them shoulder to shoulder in a room, gave them crappy microphones, fed them spoon fulls of sticky peanut butter, and forced them to interact with customers while listening to a recording of cats having sex, turn on full blast. I was told all kinds of stories. They told me my internet connection simply needed to be reset on their end, they told me the towers in my area required repairs, they told me they dispatched a repairman, they told me the towers in my area were almost done being repaired, they told me the repairs were taking longer than normal, they told me their network was being upgraded, they told me there was too many people in my area using YouTube at the same time (no joke). It was a different story every time I called.

When I asked one of them to credit me for the 3 weeks I was hardly able to use my Internet, he refused. That was the last straw. I called to cancel my service and was transfered to an account rep, who offered to cut my bill in half. When I declined the offer, she OUTRIGHT REFUSED TO CANCEL MY HOME INTERNET SERVICE. She gave me some BS excuse about not being able to “future-date” cancellations, which was an absolute lie. She also became snippy and rude when she realized I was not going to budge from my position. I called back a second time and got a different rep. He gave me the same sales pitch–offered me a 50% off discount, offered to “hibernate” my account, and offered to upgrade the speed on my account. He would not take no for an answer. He kept repeating over and over again that too many people in my neighborhood were on YouTube, as if that was enough justification for my crappy connection to keep me as a customer. After 20 minutes on the phone with him, I finally got him to cancel my service.

I will NEVER, NEVER do business with Clear again. You shouldn’t either. Consider yourself warned.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

Felecia October 17, 2011 at 8:44 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Very bad customer service…. Will not work in certain areas. Do Not get this service if you are not 100% sure that it will work in your area. I got it and it didnt work in my area and they would not refund my $45. they just got paid for nothing. Took advantage of me.. for real!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

M. C. October 29, 2011 at 4:31 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

EVERY time I contact customer service, they disconnect me or hang up on me. Made an advanced payment and they “have no way” to get me a receipt. I asked if they could just send me an email indicating that I made the payment and the response was, “we do not have access to email”. What kind of INTERNET company doesn’t have email?! What kind of company doesn’t give a receipt when you make a payment?!

The “view recent payments” section does NOT show you recent payments. All it shows you are recent BILLS. There is nowhere on their site where you can view your recent payments. I’ve been with Clear for far too long already and the problems with customer service consistantly are the WORST I’ve evern dealt with. And I thought Wal*Mart was bad… Cancelling service once the “contract” is up. (I never signed a contract or ever agreed to a contract. They found a way to have me in one though) Clear is a SCAM, a joke and a rip-off. Trust the reviews and go with that other company…

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

lisa E November 2, 2011 at 3:26 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I hooked up with clear wireless after being utterly disgusted with cables games and prices. They promised me that I was under a tower so excellent coverage.

That is so far from the mark. Some times the signal is pretty good, most of the time is sucks horribly.
I’ve moved it around, stuck it by a window etc etc, short of putting it on the roof I’m determined that I want to drop kick their modem as far off a cliff as I can, that or take a baseball bat to it.

I’ll be switching to another service. Pure frustration especially if your a gamer or video watcher.

Don’t buy it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

LM December 16, 2011 at 12:59 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I would not recommend Clear (or Clearwire?) to ANYone. Terrible customer service- the employee and manager in the store when we signed up lied to our face several times about the rates and plans available. Looked up rates and plans myself IN the store as they lied to us, then they reluctantly admitted that they did have these other plans and rates available. Oh- and the store manager spent most of the time we were there outside working on his vehicle! Seriously!?
Bandwith was terrible- we had to reset the modem and router just about every night. At one point during our two months of service it randomly shut down, and it was not resolved until we called to inquire on the problem. When the internet DID work, it was not the promised high speed. We could not stream videos, which in most/all urban areas this should not be an issue. It’s 2011 for crying out loud.
We called in July to cancel, and moved out of state. They did not send any emails or any sort of confirmation. So guess what- we check our credit card statement at the end of November and discover that they have been charging us every month! So we call to inquire and ask for the money refunded for the services we had not used, and after being passed around and un-helped for almost an hour, we suddenly get an email (!)– you guessed it, a confirmation email for the next monthly charge we are about to have withdrawn from our credit card (!). You have to be kidding me!
Not only are they refusing to refund our money, but they do not deliver on ANYthing they promised. The manager was supposed to call us within 10 minutes- took him 15 (sure, he can have some grace there, but nevertheless, a promise unmet). Next he said he would pass on our request to Elevated Escalations and that we would receive a phone call from them WITHIN 24 hours. 24 hours came and went- oh and it has now been 15 days and they have still not called back.
We called again today and they still refuse to refund our money- actually, they have very “sweetly” offered to credit us the $200 + that they have taken from us IF we open another account!! (yeah…. right.)

All that to say- I have read countless other reviews from others who have had very similar experiences. This company is full of lies and deceit and undelivered promises. Tread with caution– take your business elsewhere!!!! (Word is that this company is going under anyway… I hope so)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Renee H. January 3, 2012 at 12:18 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I have used the Clearview wireless home modem for about one year – with a 2 year contract. I broke the contract, because I could not deal with Clearwire’s customer relations anylonger.
I cannot complain about the personnel in itself, I always dealt with the friendliest and kindest people, but everytime I made a credit card available, they charged stuff on it that was totally out of reality and had nothing to do with what I was supposed to pay. When calling to find out what happened, one hand did not k now what the other did and it took me 3 weeks to straighten everything out.
Thanks for the help of the credit card company, without which I would still be sorting it out today – total nightmare!
I call Clearview totally “bi-polar”. you book one thing – but the charge is for something totally unknown!
I would be 30 Minutes on the phone with the friendliest Clearview representative, agree on the services that I wanted to buy and pay for, asked for the price, made the rep. repeat it back to me as to how much my credit card would be charged with, reconfirm it over and over again, finished the call in total mutual agreement – and as soon as I saw the charges on my credit card 3 days later it had nothing in common with what was agreed. The related invoice looked even more confusing, so bad in fact that when I called back, no-one at Clearview was actually able to explain what the strange charges were about – and of course – I was never able to speak to the same representative twice… a total nightmare and only fun if you have a looooot of time to hang for entire afternoons on the phone to straighten it out – totally unbelievable!!!
The Clearwire wireless connection that I received in the Ny City area was not the strongest – normally 3 bars, flickering up to 4 occasionally, but the connection was very stable and without problem during the year I used it.
I was easily able to use steady online streaming media for a trading platform, while listening to Youtube music, having Skype run on a 2nd laptop and multi-task online in the meantime without any buffering wheel. Only the few times that it was very foggy – I would have interrupted connection.
The monthly rate was $52 including $7 rent for the home modem and tax.
I paid my monthly fee by check, since I did not allow the Clearview people to abuse my credit card anylonger as if it was their own candystore.
Unfortunately 14 days ago I wanted to upgrade to the latest mobile modem “Apollo”. I had to make another credit card available to pay for the exchange modem, since Clearview does not offer the rental option anylonger. I had already pre=paid for the Internet connection for the next / coming month, and only needed to pay for the new modem. I told the sales agent, that I only authorized the modem charge, nothign else!
Yeah right – when I checked my credit card charges I nearly fainted – I had charges on there that made no sense whatsoever, including another month of Internet fee etc, etc. I am glad, that my credit card company accepted my dispute immediately and will solve the disastrous abuse for me – in the meantime I cancelled everything with Clearview, sent all my modems back and am done with this company.
Once a disaster OK – twice..no way!
I am very happy now with the new wireless service from Time Warner Cable -Roadrunner. 200% better customer service, no frills, no complications, straight forward, 1.2.3!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Kyp Durron January 6, 2012 at 1:58 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Terrible service. Advertised bandwidth is low to begin with, offering only 1.5 mbps download speed. In reality, my download speed ranged from .01 to .2 mbps. Additionally, the modems are throttled at night, reducing bandwidth further. As of the start of the year, service is far more intermittent, as the modem drops connection very frequently. Don’t waste time and money with this pathetic excuse for an ISP.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Peter Shames January 27, 2012 at 10:37 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

These guys offer services around the US.  They may be great in your locale, but in general they have some issues and right here in Culver City, CA the service stinks.  I had high hopes, they were dashed.  It’s like that nursery rhyme … “when he was good he was very, very good, but when he was bad he was horrid.”

In the 50 days I have had the service I have been on the phone with their tech support, both junior and senior, for more than 6 hours.  I am a very experienced techie and I am patient, but there are limits.  I have been trying, patiently, ever since I got this service, to get the problems with it diagnosed.  I was told that the problem was in my installation (not the case).  Then I was told that the problem was in their local installation “at the pole” and that it would be fixed in a week.  I was patient.  The problems (slow / highly variable speeds and total disappearance of service), have persisted.  Sometimes it gives 6 Mbps, sometimes 2, sometimes 1, but far too often, no service at all. The last senior tech support guy, on the second or third call, finally confirmed that yes, there was a service problem on their end, at several poles in the area, and but that he could not tell me when it might be fixed.  Could be a month, could be a year.

Lousy service.  No refund for poor service and they would not accept returned equipment after 30 days.  I give up. I just cancelled the service and am telling the digital world just what kind of poor service they can expect.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

CC January 31, 2012 at 11:25 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Horrible Internet Service. I have the HOT SPOT. There is absolutely no rhyme or reason as to when it will work or not. It will show that Clear is connected and the signal is strong but you will STILL not be able to connect to the Internet. I gave CLEAR the benefit of the doubt for a loooong time. I kept thinking there was a firewall setting on my computer preventing me from logging onto the Internet. I even got a new computer. But its clear to me now… that it’s CLEAR !!!! To say it is an Intermittent problem would be a step up. It keeps me off waaaaaay more than it lets me on !!!! I have missed business deadlines and lost money because I could not get on the Internet when under time constraints. Frustrated & Angry does not begin to sum up my feelings towards this company and their products. It is a disgrace that they expect you to pay a fee to discontinue this [lack of] service. I’d rather call the Better Business Bureau or the News Media and expose them. I’ll fight that fight….

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Anzay February 4, 2012 at 1:19 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Omg this is the most horrible company ever. I am not the kind of person to go write reviews but I am so disappointed at the service the provide. I called in yesterday about how slow my network was and got a lecture from the customer service rep about how I used too much internet. I just wanted him to fix my internet but he kept telling how he works 10 hours a day. Horrible Customer service and horrible internet. No needs to pay $60 a month for this type of service. I have been with this company for over 8 eights never missed a payment and that’s how they treat me.. HATE CLEARWIRE

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

Dan February 6, 2012 at 3:42 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I was talked into the service at Best Buy and was hoping to find a answer to dealing with broadband fees of cable companies. I was with them for several months when I realized I was paying twice as much for half the speed. I would call into technical support when I would continuously get kicked offline and have super slow speed. Thinking it was my computer I backed up my files and reran my operating system. Still no improvement. I called in again and was told that there was allot of customers in my area using clear wire creating a slower speed for me. That is not my problem, if that is the case I should get a lower fee.

Just before my billing cycle came due I called in to cancel service. I agreed to pay the cancellation fee. They told me they would delete my card and send me a paper “final” bill. Never did. However come time for the cycle I got charged to my card. I had already set up a block for the transaction. They began to run my card 3 times a day creating a mess with my card. I called in every week asking for that final bill and to see why I never was canceled. I was assured every time it would be handled. Not the case. Now I am considered plus 30 days past due, the late fees have been added and I am taking hits on my credit. They still have not sent me something saying final bill.

This company is not a company that shows respect to its customers, I would have stayed if I was not paying 79.00 for dial up speeds. I can get cable for 37 per month.

They should not be in business and they should not be charging me late fees when I canceled and requested a final bill prior to my billing cycle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Leave a Comment

Click stars below to rate.
Price
Speed
Support