Wireless Internet Reviews

AT&T DataConnect Mobile Broadband Service

Overview

AT&T

Editor's Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Serving over seventeen million customers, AT&T – formerly Cingular – is the second largest wireless carrier in the United States. AT&T’s corporate headquarters are located in San Antonio, Texas.

In 2005, AT&T Wireless merged with Cingular Wireless and began operations solely under the Cingular name and brand. In 2005, Cingular was acquired by the original AT&T and re-branded as "the new AT&T", putting the old Cingular brand and reputation to rest.

Pros: The DataConnect plan offers more global coverage than any other mobile broadband company in the United States, making this a top choice for frequent international travelers. Additionally, almost all of the modems they offer can be obtained for free with contract service.

Cons: AT&T DataConnect plans may only be used with AT&T certified LaptopConnect cards. The pricing plans are a bit complicated and even if you sign up for a two year contract you have to pay a $36.00 activation fee.


Detailed Provider Information

Plans: AT&T DataConnect mobile broadband service offers three main service plans. The first is called DataConnect and costs $60.00 per month. The plan includes five gigabytes of bandwidth a month without the option to purchase additional bandwidth.  There are two sub tiers of this service that go for $20.00 and $40.00 per month.  With the $20.00 plan you get only 10MB a month and pay $0.0019 per additional KB used.  The $40.00 plan gives you 200MB per month with an overage charge of $10.00 per 100MB used.

The second plan is called DataConnect North America and costs $109.99 per month. This offers the same coverage and bandwidth as the regular DataConnect plan, but also offers coverage of up to 100 megabytes per month in Mexico and Canada. Anything over 100 megabytes costs $.005 per kilobyte in Canada and Mexico and $0.0195 per kilobyte in all other countries.

The third plan available is DataConnect Global which is divided into two tiers and costs either $139.99 a month or $229.99 a month. These plans include everything that the DataConnect North America plan does, except that the 100 megabytes per month available for use in Canada and Mexico can be used in select locations globally. Anything over 100 megabytes when used in countries other than Mexico and Canada is at an additional cost of $.0195 per kilobyte.  Data overages in Mexico and Canada are billed at $.005 per kilobyte used.  The $229.99 upgrade doubles the allowed usage in global locations to 200 MB.

Customer Service: Customer service for AT&T DataConnect is available via a toll free number, email or at any AT&T retail location.

Credit Check: Yes

Contract: Yes, there is a two year contract requirement for mobile wireless plans.

Payment Options: Payments can be made online through the AT&T website, by telephone via a toll free number, by auto-payment which automatically charges your credit card, at any AT&T retail location or by postal mail.

Bandwidth Restrictions: Speeds can range between a data transfer speed of 700-1400kbps.

Activation Fee: There is an activation fee of $36.00 to begin AT&T wireless internet service.

Cancellation Fee: The maximum cancellation fee for discontinuing your AT&T DataConnect service while still under contract is $175.00. Please note, the cost will go down the further into the contract that you cancel. AT&T will credit the $175.00 cancellation fee by $5.00 for each full month of service you’ve received and paid for during the contract.

Roaming Charges: The AT&T DataConnect plans have no roaming charges in the United States. However, any usage over 100 megabytes outside of the United States included in your plan will cost between $.005 and $.0195 per kilobyte depending on where you use it.

Modems and PC Cards: AT&T offers various PC cards (also known as air cards) ranging from free (with mail-in rebates and discounts) to $49.99. AT&T also offers USB keys that usually end up being free due to contract discounts and mail-in rebates.

Some of the Available Modems and PC Cards are listed below:

AT&T USBConnect Mercury USB Key (shown)
Sierra Wireless AirCard 881 (PC Card)
Option GT Ultra Express ExpressCard
AT&T USBConnect Quicksilver
AT&T USBConnect Velocity
AT&T USBConnect Shockwave 4G

Coverage Map: AT&T DataConnect Coverage Map

Average Ratings (from 21 ratings)
Price
Speed
Support
Average Rating

{ 21 comments… read them below or add one }

SPete22 June 26, 2008 at 4:38 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Waste of time. AT&T are useless shipped me two bad cards and tried to charge me for both. Speeds are very unreliable when driving round town.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 7 found this review helpful.

Reply

Alice Barnes October 7, 2008 at 9:10 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

AT&T have the best 3G coverage probably because of the iPhone. I got the new Mercury USB stick, love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

JP October 7, 2008 at 9:18 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Overpriced. I went with Verizon much cheaper and better service in my mind.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

John November 20, 2008 at 3:57 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I was able to use ATT wireless from a friend’s account and computer while being a passenger and drove around San Francisco and through hwy 80 near Berkeley. Data connection was excellent and consistent thoughout. I’m thinking of signing up, but $60 still too much for me; $40 is my ideal monthly cost. I got a little excited when I read JP’s “Verizon much cheaper” review, but it turned out only by 1 cent, Verizon is $59.99 and ATT is $60. The only cheaper service is Cricket, but does not cover my area :( I’d rate it 5 star for quality, but 4 star for value

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

DG September 19, 2009 at 11:35 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

dont waste your time with at&fee. get sprint!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

TK October 25, 2009 at 10:28 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I recently signed up for data connect plan. The service is really slow compared to Verizon and Sprint. It is definetly not worth $60.00 a month. I would value this at $5.00 a month. I am switiching to Verizon.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Brian February 5, 2010 at 2:03 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Really fast. My area has 7.2 and this thing is nearly faster than my home dsl. I can’t rate it higher than 3 stars though. The 5gb cap is too small and the overage are atrocious.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

David March 23, 2010 at 11:00 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Absolute garbage. Their 3G network is WAY too small, the price is absolutely INSANE, ($60/month), you can only transfer 5GB of data per month, overages are a total pain in the rear, and as soon as you leave their 3G coverage area, do NOT expect speeds anywhere above 20kb/s. Also, when you leave the 2G network, and pass into the 1st gen network, speeds drop to slower-than-dial-up, and you are charged a fee per kilobyte of data. Basically speaking, if you live in a city smaller than Minneapolis, MN. you are screwing yourself over BIG TIME with AT&T mobile “no”band. I live in northern MN, on the border between MN and ND… Absolutely TERRIBLE internet service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

sherry May 6, 2010 at 10:59 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

My data “no connect” card will not connect most of the time. It starts out OK and two days later, I can’t do anything. I’ve had tech support. It only works sporadically. When I finally do get connected, the speed is slower than my mother’s 10 year old laptop with equally old processor on dial-up. I’m still in my 30 day trial period. I’m taking it back tomorrow and going to the library for free Wi-Fi. Very unimpressed and over it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

4 / 4 found this review helpful.

Reply

carolyn July 23, 2010 at 6:50 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

the aircard is not worth the time and money and effort put forth, i can never get on line, takes to long, then it times you out, then you have to start all over again and again. im sorry i ever signed up for the at&t air card.i tried to get someone from at&t on the phone to see when my contract is up, heck you stand more of a chance trying to set up an appt. with obama!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

liiiii September 1, 2010 at 12:33 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

the worst service that i have ever got!!! we order high speed wireless internet. We suppose to get it in 3 days but we never did. we called them back in a week, they said that there s no our order in their system at all!!!!! we were forced to order it again!!. we received the modem just in 1 month after we order, though the technician support person never said that its gonna take so long time, plus she never mention that the technician guy has to come to install our modem, she said that we can do it our-self!!! Finally after we received the modem after one month we couldnt install our modem, so we were forced to call at&t again, the lady said that we missed our appointment with their person ( though it was never ever settled with us!!!) and that their guy were supposed to come the day when we even didnt received our modem yet! so m=now we have to wait another 20 days for at&t technical guy to come to install our modem!!!!!!!!!! the worst that I ever heard & saw!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 5 found this review helpful.

Reply

Carol in West Central Ohio January 21, 2011 at 10:10 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

The review by liiii is typical of service I have been getting from AT&T for the last 3 years. As a original customer of AT&T in the pre-breakup days I always considered myself a loyal. Now I have no use for the current system of customer service which will do or say anything to create a sale (of anything they can foist off on a person).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

5 / 6 found this review helpful.

Reply

cathy wilson February 6, 2011 at 4:11 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I have had my broad band stick for over 2 years, They told me I didnt need to worry about needing more then the gbs I was given because they didn’t have overage charges.I never went over it for 2 years and then they supend my service because they said i went over by 666kb.(This was in a 14 daY PERIOD AND i WAS NOT EVEN HOME FOR 8 OF THOSE DAYS BECAUSE I WAS OUT OF TOWN STAYING WITH MY MOTHER IN THE HOSPITAL OVER 200 MILES AWAY)I tried to call and talk to them but they were rude. I finally called to cancel my service and the lady I talked to said I had never gone anywhere close to going over before and could understand my being upset.My bill usally ran $60 a month. I just got a bills saying I own them $438 for overage charges.. I am not paying this and I am looking for a lawsuit against them..Do not use them.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Todd April 3, 2011 at 7:43 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

AT&T wireless internet (3G) sucks big time! When it works at all, it’s undependable. I have spent hours just to be able to be logged on long enough to click the “send” button on a text e-mail. Naturally I will be doing business with anybody else as soon as possible. AT&T 3G worked fine until last December. But right now dial up would be a huge improvement!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

2 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

Danielle McNeal June 21, 2011 at 5:02 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

AT&T has terrible service! My internet connection goes down at least 7-8 times a day. Customer service is a joke! You get transferred to several people and have to give them all your info everytime you’re transferred, before you get someone to “help” you. You can guarantee you will be on the phone for a minimum of an hour everytime you call, before you hang up more frustrated than you started out. I DO NOT reccommend anyone use thier service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 2 found this review helpful.

Reply

David Berkleshire July 10, 2011 at 5:20 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

wow… my brother bougbt the card… i feel soo bad for him… it works fine up until 11:00pm then it crashes and crashes and tries to get you to go to 2g… sprint says they are sitting on bandwith… they have made an offer to buy tmobile… sprint is leading the charge to cry monopoly cause with att&tmobile and verizon … two companies control 80% of the wireless services in the usa and they say it will cause less compeitition… im with sprint… and they are fine… its a much smaller network but the people are wonderful to chat with (all american no one overseas) when i bought my android theYwaived the activation fee JUST CAUSE I ASKED! do yourself a favor… go sprint! im not joking… go for the little guy!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

jim October 7, 2011 at 9:19 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

DONT buy ATT 5g data connect plan. With todays high volume flash web pages you will easily burn thru your 5G’s in 2 weeks, then either be billed a huge rate to continue service or have to buy additional Gig at 10 bucks a pop. I repeat… DO NOT BUY THIS!!!!!! The customer support is horrible at best. they will email you back with a generic answer which does you no good.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

3 / 3 found this review helpful.

Reply

Bob Williams December 11, 2011 at 8:54 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

Wow…where to begin…AT&T is simply the worst internet provider. I live in a rural area where AT&T is the only provider in internet service, and let me tell you, they use that to their advantage. Ever since day one, the internet has been terrible, losing connection every 20 minutes or so, and internet gaming lasted about the same. I have called them out numerous times to “fix” it, but after a week or so, it’s back to terrible connection. However, that was about two years ago. Now, it has become HORRENDOUS. Internet gaming is out of question. Internet surfing cuts on and off every 5 minutes. My subdivision, whom all have AT&T, have said the same. If you ever have any other choice in internet service, pick it. I am beyond frustrated with them. Avoid it like the plague.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

Andrey Dubinsky December 19, 2011 at 9:23 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

AT&T is an absolutely unbelievable company. When I ordered the service, I specified that I was unable to sign on to a one year contract and asked what would be a price month to month. The sales rep gave me a quote of $25. I confirmed with him that this was the price without a contract. When the first bill came, it was for $38, so I called to figure out why this was the case. The billing rep told me that my price is $25 but that it takes 2-3 months for them to process the sale price and that I will be credited what I paid for this. After 2 more months in which I paid $38, I called again, and then was told again that I need to wait another month or two to be credited. Then the billing rep looked into the system and informed me that actually the information I was given was a mistake, and that the previous reps didn’t check my file properly and that the price will be $38. He said that when installing the modem I accepted the terms and agreements which had the real price in there somewhere, and that this is the only thing I should go by, not what a customer rep person tells me. He also suggested that I could view this as a life lesson to always read terms and conditions. It’s just a phenomenal customer care philosophy. I will never, ever use an ATT product again.

With regard to the speed – it’s slow. Not horribly slow but quite slow. If you have any other choice, go with it. While ATT managed to position itself as a semi monopoly in many areas, try to find alternatives, because this is really a company that doesn’t care about its customers or about its reputation.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Reply

MIMI January 7, 2012 at 12:28 am
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

I got the $60 a month plan, it was a joke…We live in SE Oklahoma…I get Phone service and all the commercials show coverage and third world COuntries so I assume I would have no problem..it ws so slow and sometimes did not even work. I have useless data connect card now. I did get an IPAD and have the $ 25 data plan, and it works pretty well. So, really who needs a $60 plan.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

Lana January 31, 2012 at 1:18 pm
Average Rating
Price
Speed
Support

AT&T are the worst internet provider ever, I am a new customer, I sighned up for a contract with 2GB data and I was over after the firs week, I used mostly wi fi and realizing after that actualy the wi fi conection is not working, I spent hours speaking with the customer servise also the phone got replased, but I still can not connect to the public wi fi geting a message that “safari cannot open the page because it could not connect to the server.” So I am forsed to use jus a AT&T data ……..they are the worst

Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Reply

Leave a Comment

Click stars below to rate.
Price
Speed
Support